We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old house undergoing transformation”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Fredericton B&B and Inns
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An old house undergoing transformation”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Carriage House Inn has changed ownership in the last year, and the previous walls of art have disappeared to be replaced by the new owners' collections. The food and menu remain much the same - a high quality breakfast in a pleasing setting. The new breakfast table has stools instead of chairs, and tends to be uncomfortable, especially for older persons.

The rooms remain small and comfortable, though they are showing signs of wear. Wifi is available throughout. Not all rooms have baths.

Room Tip: You must ask if you wish a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolno4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
50
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penetanguishene
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stopped overnight in Fredericton at the Carriage House having booked at the last minute. Our hosts were gracious and accommodating. Our room was small but comfortable, the decorations included some local art.The main floor was furnished with antiques in keeping with the great rooms in homes of this age. Breakfast was tailored to each guest and tasty. We'd recommend this B&B to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I checked reviews and stopped at the Carriage house on our way to PEI.
We liked it so much that we booked a room for the return trip.
The first room was smaller and the bathroom, although private, was across the hall. When we booked a second room for later in the week, the owner Ben, said he had a nicer room for only $10 more. This second room was very charming and had an attached bath which was nice. The room looked much like I remember the charm of my Grandmothers home. It had high ceilings and old fashioned dark furniture. At the morning breakfasts both days we met such lovely people from all over the world and it was nice to sit and chat before we headed out. The price was excellent for such charming

Room Tip: If an attached bathroom is important you should ask if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I did not have reservations for the night and we picked this B&B at about the last minute, but it was a great find. Our hosts, Stacey and Ben, were great as was the food and the room. The home itself is just what you think a B&B should look like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A wonderful B& B with two great hosts helped fulfill my mothers 'bucket list' of visiting the maritimes. Our stay with (Ben who will charm you and Stacey who inspire you) was far two brief. We enjoyed the wonderfully preserved glimpse of NB archetectual history with a sprinkling of wonderful local art throughout the B&B. Close to downtown and what a great breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wish we could have here stayed longer. After difficulties with parking and access in Saint John, we were delighted to arrive at the lovely Carriage House Inn in Fredericton. Easy to find, parking onsite! It is a beautiful heritage property in a lovely part of town, and the owners are very nice and very helpful. Actually, Fredericton overall looked like a lovely place. The room was spacious and comfortable, and very charming, though the desk was a little small (important on a business trip). I may have offended the cook by not wanting the entire breakfast selection, but one can only eat so much.....and it was delicious. Unfortunately the inclement weather made it difficult to enjoy the nearby attractions fully, but there seems to be plenty to see and do. Happy to recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We feel so lucky to have found this Inn. It is a thoughtfully restored/maintained historical building in a neighbourhood of historical homes. It is very well located - a few minutes from the riverfront walking/cycling trails, the old railroad bridge that crosses the St John River, and a very interesting walk along the river into the historic center of Frederickton.

The staff were very friendly and very helpful, providing the historic background for the house and providing advice on walking tours and other activities in the area. The breakfast was fabulous in the beautifully appointed dining room and provided the opporunity to meet other travellers. All the public places in the Inn are carefully furnished and decorated with historic objects and reading materials on Fredericton are available for reading. There are two wonderful porches/balconies where one can sit in an easy chair, read a book, have a glass of wine and chat with other travellers - especially appreciated after a long walk across the river and a day of sight seeing in Frederickton

A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a spacious room on the third floor, comfortably furnished and with a the truly comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
1.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Amsterdam
1.9 mi away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#5 of 20 in Fredericton
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 230 University Ave, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 4H7, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Inn Fredericton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing