We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of Major Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“In Need of Major Renovation”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel appears nice when you drive up and the rates were reasonable. However, the room was in terrible shape. Seriously, I have thrown out couches that were in better shape than the torn and stained one that was in our room. I was afraid to sit down on it! The "bar" was dark and dank to say the least and that was where they served what passed for a continental breakfast, which we skipped.

The hotel was fully booked and we were too tired to drive around to find another place to stay, so made the best of it.

Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonladygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    163
    172
    125
    91
See reviews for
245
187
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in on of their "economy" rooms in the basement because out tent got rained on.

Very small room with a double bed but it was clean and comfortable. Can't beat the price of $59/night.

Breakfast was included and had the basics.

The lobby was new and looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNinjaJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've returned yearly to this hotel for our wedding anniversary quick weekend away... every year we stay in the honeymoon suite with fireplace and jacuzzi for two... we love the outdoor pool and cheap beers... the rooms aren't fancy or modern but you have every thing you need and every year we notice improvements in the rooms and especially around the pool... it's a great place for a romantic night away and the only place we stay in f'ton and the staff is great!!! Thanks again!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is WELL worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

this property was gorgeous from the front - newly renovated, nice paint job, reception area was clean and indoor pool well maintained.
however, we stayed around the back of the property - motel style room, near the outdoor pool. the outdoor pool was really nice and warm as well and it had a bar! at first sight it was really great...then the parking lot filled up with all the neighbourhood teenagers. apparently the pool is open to the public and there was a constant flow of young kids squeeling tires, yelling, drinking, etc. also, once you turned the corner around the back of the property the paint was peeling off the doors and it looked really run down. if you compaired the front of the property with the back you would swear it was a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fredericton hotels

Huntsville
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The fridge switch is over the bed where the light switch should be... so in the process of going to bed we turned off the fridge. In the morning our food was warm!Label the switch! The wifi was poor... impossible to keep a connection. The beds were great, the people were nice, the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Annette 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Fredericton
Ramada Fredericton
#9 of 20 in Fredericton
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#6 of 20 in Fredericton
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericton Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Fredericton
Comfort Inn Fredericton
#10 of 20 in Fredericton
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton
Address: 958 Prospect St, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 2T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wandlyn Hotel Fredericton
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing