We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RETURN TRIP” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“RETURN TRIP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Well this is my second visit to the Crowne Plaza and I found that it still is a good spot to stay. I am a little disappointed that while many other hotels are upgrading people upon check in, if better rooms are available, I have yet to be upgraded at the Crowne Plaza. They do have a rewards program but you need to stay multiple times to get into the Platinum Elite IHG Rewards program. There was a freezing rain storm the day I was there and instead of staying a second night at the Crowne Plaza, I chose to stay at another hotel that did upgrade me when I checked in. Small things go a long way. I stayed on 3rd floor and the room was clean and adequate. Staff were friendly, and courteous. Check in and check out went well. I did not eat at the restaurant on site as I found the prices were quite expensive for anyone on a budget. Customers should not have to belong to a platinum program to get upgrades and treated like they matter. The Crowne Plaza lost one nights revenue because another hotel did.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an upgrade stay elsewhere. A number of hotels in Fredericton do offer upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Mike C,

Once again, thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback from your most recent stay, it is very much appreciated. Although we were not able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade during you last stay, we do certainly value our loyal guests' and hope to do so the next time you are in Fredericton.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    187
    90
    27
    13
See reviews for
86
123
30
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Makes you feel like a politician. This is the hotel for the government and as such all rooms cater to many of their needs. A good downtown tourist hotel. The pub is very lively. Check for the entertainment when you book...lots of fun

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Seaslider,

Great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our Hotel and we look foward to having you return again. Our location to the New Brunswick Legislature and many government offices does make for a convenient stay for many of our guests.

Thank you for your comments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
242 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

As a Platinum Elite IHG Rewards Club Member, I received many complimentary services. There were some minuses on the hotel (such as outdated decor) but all the greatness erased the deficit to balance things out.

Location: In central part of downtown Fredericton, facing Saint John River.
Interior decor: Dated but not yet reached "antique" status.
Exterior appearance: Premier hotel in downtown Fredericton. 8 story
Outside view from the room I stayed at: New Brunswick provincial capital building - nice!
Room size: Upgraded to executive suite for about 70 square metres. Plenty of space to breath and stretch!
Price: Great value.
Service: Excellent - many freebies as a Platinum Elite IHG Rewards Club Member: Suite room upgrade, platinum member parking space, microbrew beer, mineral water, breakfast
Bed: King, medium

Room Tip: Suite room, facing New Brunswick Provincial Capital building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello setotravel,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. It is great to see that you have visited so many places in the world and we hope to see you back in our beautiful City.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here for the forst time because of an industry event and I was very pleased with the hotel. It has an old world feeling when you enter the lobby. Grand staircase giving it a very regal look. The rooms are nice not very large but the bed was very comfortable.
We had a dinner in one of the conference rooms.Usually those events have very unmemorable food but I have to say I was surprised at the quality of the food.
The restaurant served a very nice buffet. Both continental and full breakfast. Cost is a little high but it wasn't the highest I have paid in a hotel.
I will go back. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenecarmelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Helenecarmelle ,

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fredericton and to our Hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stay in hotels every week for work. I have stayed in major chain hotels (Fairmont Sheraton Hilton etc) across Canada. I have been staying at the Lord Beaverbrook for a few weeks. I can honestly say this hotel is one of my favorites. They always make sure I get a gift in my room (beer and lobster potato chips!) and they really go out of their way to make things special. The morning restaurant staff have become my family away from home. Stay here - they deserve your business!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPBCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello JPBCDNTraveller ,

Thank you for your review and your wonderful comments. I will be certain to share your feedback with our great staff here at the Crowne Plaza Lord Beavebrook Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was at the CPF for 2 nights to attend a conference at the convention centre, which was conveniently right across the street.

As soon as you walk in there's a beautiful old staircase that made me imagine ladies in beautiful gowns heading down for a night out.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

My room was on the sixth floor on the river side. It was a corner room, and had a lovely view.

The room was clean, shower pressure great, and there was a soft nightlight in the bathroom.

There was also a little aromatherapy kit to help you sleep and a Keurig coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

The area of the room was quiet. The windows did not open which is something I really like, but from outside it looked like some do open so I could have asked for it.

The bar downstairs is so comfortable, with beautiful floors and very spacious...we had a good time down there.

The parking lot was busy but I always found a spot.

Overall, I was pleased with my stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsbefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello letsbefriends ,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back. We hope you enjoyed the conference at the Fredericton Convention Centre.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
778 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,290 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This grand old hotel is sure showing its age. The carpets need replacing throughout. The rooms need a refresh. The walls need attention. It is obvious that some improvements have recently been made but there is still much to do. The hotel is conveniently located right downtown on the river. The legislature is across the street as is the new convention centre. The Beaverbrook Museum is next door. You have an easy walk to many fine restaurants downtown (the Palate is excellent). the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. The gym is well equiped and the aerobic machines are new. The James Joyce pub is a great spot for a quick pint or a bite to eat (the food is good and the price is reasonable). The main lobby shows that this hotel once shone brightly. I hope it does again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello JamesII,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in your review. We hope to see you return to our property the next time you visit Fredericton.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
1.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Fredericton
Delta Hotels Fredericton
#3 of 20 in Fredericton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Fredericton Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#5 of 20 in Fredericton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
Address: 659 Queen Street, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fredericton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from the Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel in downtown Fredericton, New Brunswick situated on the banks of the majestic St. John River! Our historic hotel has long been known for its unbeatable location, comfortable rooms, top-notch meeting and event services and inspired dining experiences. We look forward to making your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fredericton Crowne Plaza
Beaverbrook Hotel
Crowne Plaza Fredericton
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel Fredericton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing