We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Hotel in Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendliest Hotel in Canada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stay in hotels every week for work. I have stayed in major chain hotels (Fairmont Sheraton Hilton etc) across Canada. I have been staying at the Lord Beaverbrook for a few weeks. I can honestly say this hotel is one of my favorites. They always make sure I get a gift in my room (beer and lobster potato chips!) and they really go out of their way to make things special. The morning restaurant staff have become my family away from home. Stay here - they deserve your business!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPBCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello JPBCDNTraveller ,

Thank you for your review and your wonderful comments. I will be certain to share your feedback with our great staff here at the Crowne Plaza Lord Beavebrook Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    189
    90
    27
    13
See reviews for
86
124
30
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was at the CPF for 2 nights to attend a conference at the convention centre, which was conveniently right across the street.

As soon as you walk in there's a beautiful old staircase that made me imagine ladies in beautiful gowns heading down for a night out.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

My room was on the sixth floor on the river side. It was a corner room, and had a lovely view.

The room was clean, shower pressure great, and there was a soft nightlight in the bathroom.

There was also a little aromatherapy kit to help you sleep and a Keurig coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

The area of the room was quiet. The windows did not open which is something I really like, but from outside it looked like some do open so I could have asked for it.

The bar downstairs is so comfortable, with beautiful floors and very spacious...we had a good time down there.

The parking lot was busy but I always found a spot.

Overall, I was pleased with my stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsbefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello letsbefriends ,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back. We hope you enjoyed the conference at the Fredericton Convention Centre.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
779 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This grand old hotel is sure showing its age. The carpets need replacing throughout. The rooms need a refresh. The walls need attention. It is obvious that some improvements have recently been made but there is still much to do. The hotel is conveniently located right downtown on the river. The legislature is across the street as is the new convention centre. The Beaverbrook Museum is next door. You have an easy walk to many fine restaurants downtown (the Palate is excellent). the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. The gym is well equiped and the aerobic machines are new. The James Joyce pub is a great spot for a quick pint or a bite to eat (the food is good and the price is reasonable). The main lobby shows that this hotel once shone brightly. I hope it does again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello JamesII,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in your review. We hope to see you return to our property the next time you visit Fredericton.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Really liked the hotel; bed was excellent, room was well laid out with nice touches. Hotel manager Geoff gave excellent help by making it possible for me to use my Apple TV by calling their internet provider and registering the ATV's wifi address/MAC address with them. Pool and hot tub were clean and large. I would come here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Rob F,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that we were able to assist you with your Apple TV and look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My reservation call went very well. Excellent front desk staff. However, The cleanliness of the hotel is among the worst I have seen. I was only there for one night. My room had a visible stain on the blanket, drywall screws held the window shut. The filter of the a/c unit was packed with dust and lint. Behind the dresser the rug was white with dust. The sun curtain was stained with water marks running down it and was torn in another location. The toilets air vent was filled with dust and lint. The bathtub tiled wall was covered with orange grime where the grout lines are. The entrance door to my room was marked all over with dirt and needed a washing in the very least, my neighbours door was in the same condition. The room had a stale smell from the lack of fresh air. The a/c unit blows it's air directly on the bed next to it making it very uncomfortable to sleep in. The spare blanket was not folded and certainly had not been washed and cleaned since the last use. Dust and hairs where apparent in the dresser drawers. The shower head ring had fallen off its mount and the hole it the tile was wide open. With all my hotel visits this is among the first ones where I felt the need to substantiate my writing this review with 17 pictures.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank thehotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello thehotelier,

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and strive to exceed our guests' expectations, however it appears we did not in your case. We welcome you to contact us directly at info@cpfredericton.com to discuss your stay and your concerns in greater detail.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Lord Beaverbrook during the Harvest Jazz and Blues festival and had a nice stay. My room was huge with 2 double beds and a massive telly and had all the facilities I needed including a much welcome coffee maker. From my window I had a lovely view out over the river and the air conditioning was very good as it was quite sticky outside and this enabled me to get a good nights sleep. I did not eat at the hotel but the food looked good and the pub looked like a nice place to unwind after a hard day.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back with views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeychops181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello monkeychops181,

Thank you for your review, we hope you had a wonderful time in Fredericton at the Harvest Jazz and Blues Festival.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON, CAN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I arrived late, around 10:30 pm, for one night. The check in was quick. The hoetl is conveniently located downtown, and in a quiet area. The room was big, with a Keurig for coffee in the am! I was so happy!!! The air unti was over by the bathroom and not blowing on the beds. Everything was great until I went to get my rental car and the window had nearly been punched in. No one had said anything when I checked out in the am...but waited until 4pm when I was leaving and only beacause I needed someone to get me a broom. The worst was the manager, last name Gallant, told me they had seen it happen 15 min after I had arrived. Sorry, the worst was being told that I was the only patron it happened to, when I arrived at the airport the rental agency told me another car had been vandalized! Vandalism happens - and I didn't blame the hotel and the manager. What I am angry at is that NO ONE TOLD me until it was very late in the day, and I had to drive 3hrs with a broken window!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugforTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPFredericton, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello BugforTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your stay with us. We apologize that your rental vehicle was damaged and did report the incident that day to our local authorities for further investigation.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
1.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#6 of 20 in Fredericton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Fredericton Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Ramada Fredericton
Ramada Fredericton
#8 of 20 in Fredericton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
Address: 659 Queen Street, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fredericton
#5 Business Hotel in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from the Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel in downtown Fredericton, New Brunswick situated on the banks of the majestic St. John River! Our historic hotel has long been known for its unbeatable location, comfortable rooms, top-notch meeting and event services and inspired dining experiences. We look forward to making your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fredericton Crowne Plaza
Beaverbrook Hotel
Crowne Plaza Fredericton
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel Fredericton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing