We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A great destination for beauty, exercise, history and seafood.

We truly enjoyed our time in Lubec and Campobello Island. The Eleanor Tea was very informative and... read more

Reviewed October 11, 2018
Marva D
Great Island

There's so much here than just FDR's summer cottage. Luckily the owners of our motel had a map of... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2018
DTP1952
,
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Read all 55 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New Brunswick
from $7.70
More Info
from $13.90
More Info
from $100.40
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
41
9
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
9
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eleanor roosevelt cookies day trip fdr's summer wonderful place to visit visitor's center driving around worth the trip low tide tea motel bridge maine cottage canada stories whales
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

We truly enjoyed our time in Lubec and Campobello Island. The Eleanor Tea was very informative and the FUN Tour included new insights. It was a treat to get out to the East Quoddy Lighthouse at low tide. We especially enjoyed hiking the trails around the beautiful West Quoddy Lighthouse.

Thank Marva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

There's so much here than just FDR's summer cottage. Luckily the owners of our motel had a map of the island and told us what all was there. Drive out to the Head Harbor Lighthouse. Check out the black beach in the state park. Just drive around the island. You never know what you might see.

Thank DTP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

We took a RoadTrip and ended up @ Campobello Island.
Fortunately we had 2 forms of ID to get on Island because of the Canadian laws. We wouldn’t have wanted to miss this place as it’s so quant, picturesque and so incredibly peaceful. We had our fur babies with us and we’ll just really enjoyed driving around and sightseeing and walking on the beach. We stopped for a delicious seafood dinner. Such a wonderful relaxing island truly a hidden gem...not to be missed !

Thank Luvinlife143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed this beautiful island, all of its history and landscape! The local were extremely friendly and welcoming!! Be sure to visit Roosevelt's summer vacation home and have tea with Eleanor!

Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

We had a great two day stay here on the island. It's fairly small, but packed with things to see. Nice B&B's and a great (really great) seafood restaurant smack in the middle called Family Fisheries. The island isn't crowded, so driving around is a joy. There are a few good tours that are musts do's. The overall tour of the island, and the whale watching cruise. We had hump back whales surface within twenty feet of our boat multiple times. It was just a real nice relaxing few days, and we plan on coming back again.

1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

What a great experience. you must go in a two hour window of low tide and it was suggested we do that first. So very happy we did. Great views at and approaching the lighthouse. They love American $$. Hike is challenging in that some of it is across lots of rocks, up and down three or four sets of steps, but worth the trek. Often you might be treated to sea life strutting it’s stuff as well. Stop at the first visitor’s center and they will give you tidal advice about going. Loved it

Thank tunasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Recent day trip was magnificent.
Chance to touch much of this beauty of an Island.
Drove from St. Stephen NB down the US 1 coastal road to Lubec Maine and then crossed over the bridge to a great New Brunswick natural beauty.

Highly recommend the visit.

Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Go. Just go. Stop in the Visitor’s Center. Take advantage of the free tours. Hike. Bike. Walk. Picnic. View wildlife. Learn about history. Learn about the fast tides. Look for whales, gray seals, harbor seals, and bald eagles. Lighthouses abound. Amazing island. Loved it here. We will return.

Thank PaleoGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Great event at Campobello Island, tea with Eleanor. Have tea and ginger snaps while an interpreter tells Eleanor Roosevelt’s story, we had Taunya, who knew her stuff and was even able to entertain our 13 year son, if you’re doing Campobello, you gotta do this...

Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

The 17 minute video is excellent and we learned a lot. Staff very accommodating and helpful so we could use our mobility scooters. Easy ride (or walk) to the Kuhn Cottage with informational tour. On to the Hammond Cottage and easy access. Both had beautiful grounds overlooking the water.
Back to our car and a complete drive through the natural areas of the island.. Hard packed dirt roads were easy to travel. Brochure described each area perfectly. Easy to follow maps and signage on the roads.

Thank KCsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews