We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Manan Island

Grand Manan Island
Ranked #47 of 508 things to do in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic island where author Willa Cather summered.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved everything about my trip to Grand Manan. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the sights were amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Caitlyn0989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    14
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hop Aboard the Ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We planned to stay only 2 nights on Grand Manan at Anchorage Park; however we were sucked in by the friendly islanders & the beauty of the island itself (even in the rain). You must visit the local artisan bakery in North Head and try the St. John bread. We also tried our hand at cooking live lobster, eating dulce and searching for glass on the beaches. The island is a well kept secret that needs to be shared if it is to survive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful and beach glass heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were lucky enough to rent a friend's home for seven glorious days (only one of which rained) and we spent two or three days combing the beaches (Stanley's Beach and Seal Cove Beach) for beach glass and other treasures. We explored the island and wandered through many of the local shops.

North Head Bakery - absolutely yummy treats and breads. Arrive early for the best selection.

Farmer's Market - Saturday morning from 10:00 - 12:00 - lots of local artisans and yummy things to buy.

Pettes Cove Arts - absolutely beautiful clothing and jewelry. This should be one of your first souvenir stops.

Guardian Drugs - So much more than just a drug store. Friendly staff and lots of interesting items to browse.

Seawind Beads - Beautiful jewelry and reasonably priced. Closed Sunday and Monday, but worth the wait to visit when she is open.

CR Lobsters - Although this a marine supply store, they also sell live lobsters and made our wish to cook our own lobster dinner a reality. For the low cost of $6.50 a pound we were able to happily purchase six lobsters for our family and cooked ourselves an awesome dinner of the freshest lobster we've ever eaten.

Stanley Beach - This is truly beach glass heaven. I was lucky enough to find a pink porcelain piece which I happily gave to my friend who has been searching the beaches for years and never found a piece quite like that. I have many fond memories of wandering the beach with my husband and the two of us filling our pockets and kangaroo pouches of our hoodies with beautiful treasures.

Newtons - This little store is a second-hand shop which also sells fresh fish. (Much like CR Lobsters it does double duty). The fish was excellent. You wouldn't expect to find fresh fish sold in a second hand clothing shop, but it is and the fish is great!

We also visited Galloway's Restaurant (I wrote a separate review of the restaurant) and enjoyed it. We also visited another takeout place just up the road from the Ferry landing and we enjoyed what we had. They make awesome gravy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went on a whale watching sailboat tour. Fantastic! Service was great, saw whales and seals. First time on the island and was impressed with the overall experience. The crew were very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kmacennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Grand Manan - the best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This visit is our 5th visit to this magnificent place which just has to be the best kept secret ever! Sweet and charming, but not Disneyfied in any way, this is a real fishing, working island where the locals are warm and kind. Pettes Cove is my favourite spot for seaglass searching, our dog loves the saltmarsh of Castellia Marsh and my husband is fond of the village of Seal Cove and its stunning sandy beach. However, we all enjoy the Sandy Cove beach on Whitehead Island, a short ferry ride away. Kilometers of pristine beach and not a soul around. Bliss! If you are lucky as we were yesterday, you can get a tour from Ken of the Swallowtail Lighthouse. Ken grew up playing around the lighthouse and is now passionately raising funds as well as lovingly conserving the iconic structure. But don't just make Grand Manan a day trip folks, spend some time and truly get to know this place with scenic treasures to be found around ever corner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank MLF1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Manan Island also viewed

Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 

Been to Grand Manan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing