We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Grand Manan Island

Grand Manan Island
Ranked #48 of 518 things to do in New Brunswick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic island where author Willa Cather summered.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Even though we're from New Brunswick, we'd never been to the Fundy Islands. This year we took the time and toured them all. By far, the coolest island was Grand Manan. There are awesome beaches (read empty) and nice (not pretentious) places to eat. The ferry ride over from Blacks Harbor was excellent. Even waiting at the terminal had the kids excited!
We camped at Anchorage Provincial park where everything was outstanding. The campground is next to the beach and a bird sanctuary and away from the main road (but still easy to find).
Everywhere on the island, the local people are very kind, taking time for "mainlanders". Try to include a Saturday in your trip, the farm market is really cool.
Can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank jjandarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    15
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Went there for photography and loved it”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I were in Maine for vacation, visiting the very northernmost part of Acadia and then up to Lubec. We went out to Machias Seal Island for Puffin viewing, and it was awesome. Grand Manan Island was right there, and sounded interesting, so we included a few days in our plans. So glad we did, it s really cool place, with so many things to see and photograph (although not in the "typical" sense, i.e., no Grand Canyon or Leaning Tower), but so many harbours, abandoned smokehouses, fishing weirs, bouys, etc, that you could spend two weeks here photographing and not get tired of it. Plus the ferry ride out here is cool, since it leads to the sense of adventure...
Well definitely be back soon...

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank scootermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heading back twice this summer! My favourite place.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I can't say enough about Grand Manan. If I could make a living over there I would certainly live there. The people are friendly and down to earth. The scenery is breathtaking and for the amateur photographer it is unlimited. We stay at the Anchorage Provincial Park and love it there. It is peaceful, clean and beautiful there. I love the marshlands and high cliffs over on the "Dark Side" of the island as well as the free ferry over to White Head Island for a little excursion. I also enjoyed the sardine museum (also a great place to take pictures) as well as the numerous beaches to walk....so peaceful....so quiet and calming...love it love it love it!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank ChaChaChaFredericton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quiet, simple, slow pace, walking, biking - a pleasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Grand Manan is a small island accessbile by ferry from Blacks Harbour in New Brunswick. It is quiet, and beautiful. Marshland, hiking, biking. Nothing fancy or touristy. We stayed for four days and wished we had spent our whole vacation there. Highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whale watching here”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

You take the ferry to this island and from here you take the Whales and Sails whale watching tour. It is the best.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Pruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Manan Island also viewed

Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 

Been to Grand Manan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing