We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay of Fundy and Reversing Falls”
Review of Bay of Fundy

Bay of Fundy
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.63*
and up
Kayaking Eco Tour on the Bay of Fundy
Ranked #28 of 518 things to do in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Magnificent eco-system encompasses natural beauty, dramatic seascapes, abundance of marine life and, on its eastern end, the highest tides in the world.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bay of Fundy and Reversing Falls”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely small city that boasts incredible variations in tide (up to 50' during a full moon). The Bay itself is very large, sparsely populated and absolutely gorgeous. Took a tour to see the caves, very scenic drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebartok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    48
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and Delightful”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I arrived at the Bay of Fundy by way of a cruise tour. We sailed on the Carnival Glory from Boston to St. John's and hopped on a tour bus to the Bay of Fundy. Our tour guide was dressed in traditional hand made dress and was well informed on the history of St. John's, St. Martin, and New Brunswick in Canada. She held our interest while on the bus even telling us stories about Moose along the way. We made two stops. Our last was at the Bay of Fundy during low tide. Here I walked on the ocean floor, collected "wishing stones", and took pictures of the caves. Before leaving I purchased the most amazing cup of New England clam chowder at The Caves Restaurant accompanied by a delicious biscuit. Take note, if walking to the caves, you will want water shoes or consider taking off your shoes. Although the tide is out there are streams of water that are too wide to jump over.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank UpstateNYAuntE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury. Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Alma, New Brunswick”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

All the world knows that the Bay of Fundy has the highest tides on the planet, where,at low tide, you can walk on the ocean floor , and at high tide, kayak among the Flower Pot Islands in the Fundy Trail Parkway. However, if you drive a few more miles west, you get to witness the effects of these tides on the pictuesque fishing village of Alma, New Brunswick. Park anywhere on the main street, grab your camera and go for a stroll, buy a lobster, kiss a moose, line up to purchase "the best sticky buns in the world",and view the fishing boats sitting on the ocean floor. Come back at high tide and see where you have to climb up to get into these same boats which, hours earlier, were sitting on the dry ocean bed. Photograph the rugged surrounding landscape from any of the public docks in town.
Some quick facts: the province of New Brunswick, Canada, has more covered bridges than anywhere else in the world; Bay of Fundy Lobster is the best and sweetest in the world, because they come from the coldest water, and they are all over 1 pound in weight, (anything smaller is thrown back in to breed and grow larger)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
313 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wish I had more time to enjoy”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We only had a few hours to enjoy St. Martins and the Bay of Fundy Drive - which wasn't enough time. Be sure to see the low tide in the morning and the high tide later in the day. (we didn't get to see the tide at it's highest but in a few hours it climbed pretty quickly).

When doing the Bay of Fundy Drive, go all the way to the end at stop 11 and slowly head back. Be sure to stop at points 11, cross the footbridge on stop 7/8, and see the falls on stop 4.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Highest tides in the world”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've seen it several times and I never grow weary of the wonderful views. St. Martin's offers a view of the tides, the caves and access to the Fundy Trail Parkway. YOu must visit St.Martin's New Brunswick with its two covered bridges, and quaint fishing village.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leer850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay of Fundy also viewed

Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia
Hall's Harbour, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Miramichi, New Brunswick
 

Been to Bay of Fundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing