We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I was disappointed with my stay at the Sandman Hotel Wpg. The over-all condition of the hotel was dirty.. dirty carpets, elevator, and the pool was disgusting. We ended up with a room with two small double beds.. very uncomfortable for two people. The room itself was okay.. modern decor.. but small too.
We went down to go for a hot tub and walked through a maze to end up at a window-less pool area with about three feet around the pool to walk. No tables, chairs. or anywhere to put your stuff down. The ONE bathroom was for everyone to use to and was gross. The floor around the pool had water splashing up to your ankles and dirt, clumps of hair and all kinds of disgusting things floating in it.... YUK
DO NOT BRING YOUR KIDS HERE... not meant for a family wknd ..
In the end... overall hotel was okay.. but wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

I travel to Winnipeg about 4/yr and I usually stay here due to it's close proximity to the airport. The staff are decent, the rooms are clean and the common areas are nice. I have received a few free upgrade rooms while staying here which is rare treatment at most Sandman properties. Wireless internet is not great, I have to use the wired internet while staying(how 2006). Denny's is convenient and Chop Steakhouse is good for drinks and lounge but it seems like the steak isn't much of a priority to them in this "steakhouse". Staff at Chop are really friendly and the place is fun. All in all, this hotel is worth the money and suits the needs of a business traveler, besides the wireless internet issue.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

stayed for one night, rooms are very nice, staff was very helpful and nice. pool is a little small no place to sit and watch your kids. it has a 24 hour dennys, and a steak house that i was told was very good and not that expensive for steak houses. free wi fi. will be always staying here on trips to winnipeg. better than the hilton hands down.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

First of all, it smells. I was put on a smoking floor, and the smell travels. I wont recommend this for families, but good for a night stay as long as you leave early and dont have to spend much time there. The wireless really sucked, it takes 10 minutes for a youtube video to load. I wont stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saracen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I am staying here currently, as I am in town for work, I have been here for a week and a half already, and the first few days were nice, but I have noticed the last few days that my room is not being cleaned properly, and I have complained and there has been no change, the internet constantly cuts out every few minutes, and the changerooms for the pool are hard to find, we never did find them, and the bathroom in the pool area was digustingly filthy and had feces all over the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I do not usually write negative reviews, but though people should be informed. My vehicle was stolen and the staff were anything but sympathetic, The manager called to inform me that the parking lot was not a priority for security, and it would cost too much to monitor. Other hotels in the area have security with a lower cost.
Would not recomend this hotel if you have a vehicle. The rooms were clean and the security inside was excellent, Good if you are not driving.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Be careful at this hotel, maybe it was just me. Staff was unfriendly, popcorn on the floor from previous visitor, I threw A dirty kitchen towel on the floor they put it right back on the sink hung over the faucet. I asked for clean linen, so I marked my dirty linen with a marker
and sure enough they didn't clean it. I was dirty. washed with a cloth that turned brown,
they hung it over the bathroom rack in the Tub for me to re-use.
I will say Oliver the night man was extremely friendly and never once acted mad when I called at 4 in the morning for him to open the GYM.This is a real review

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junebug7665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#31 of 63 in Winnipeg
162 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport

Address: 1750 Sargent Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $109 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located minutes away from Winnipeg International Airport and a short 10-minute drive to downtown, Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport offers guests the perfect combination of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Winnipeg Airport
Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing