We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean Rooms, good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms, good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I travel extensively through Western Canada and have stayed at Sandmans whenever possible as we have a national account with them. The Winnipeg Sandman is located close to the airport, which is convenient. There is a Chop Restaurant and Lounge, which is above average and an attached Denny's which is also clean and reasonable. The rooms we rent have a king sized bed and they are very clean and quiet. There are coffee makers in the rooms which are always well stocked and the washrooms are large for the price that you pay. There is an Esso station nearby which makes filling up the rental car convenient and there is a large Supermarket also nearby if you tire of restaurant food. Ask for a Lucky 13 card when you stay there...they accumulate and you can get free room(s) every 13th stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a king rather than two queens if you are travelling alone. They can usually ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clint a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    84
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
37
43
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was put up here by West Jet after my flight was canceled, and found it to be an average airport hotel. It is n ear a major supermarket, and has a nice Denny's attached to it. Staff were very friendly, but the hotel smells of stale tobacco smoke. All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unitedfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for both business and pleasure and have always been satisifed. It is convenient to the airport and never had any problems with shuttle service. It is also very good for shopping as you are close to the main drags to get to Polo Park, easy access to Route 90 and the Kenaston shopping areas. One nice feature is having the Denny's restaurant right there - it's nice not to have to find place to eat as soon as you get checked in or if you are flying out somewhere, you can eat here and not at one of the food court specialties at the Airport. I really don't have anything negative to say about this hotel - comfortable rooms, good location and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxlady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel 3-5 times and each time the service is terrible!! (Unlike Winnipeg general population who are friendly and engaging). Late shuttles, no apologies... Condescending front desk staff who treat the employees and people applying for employment ahead of us rudely.... Never a smile! Hotel is relatively new but many of the rooms look tired and beaten up. I have certainly stayed in worse hotels that have given me a better vibe... Im a Generally realistic non princess traveller. Also ... FYI... They charge your credit card in advance for the room and add a nightly 'additional' amount of 50.00 for incidentals... That's a first for me.
Beds are pretty comfortable and a good size. If you can get a suite with the kitchen and separate king size bed it is by far the best choice. Good location by the airport with a free shuttle that you need to request... Although remember that 'on-time' is optional. Also... Hotel still offers smoking rooms... What? But in all... Don't talk to anyone or hope to have any problems resolved... Arrange for own transportation or plan earlier to leave on time.... And it's not 'too' bad....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jettingwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This looks like a brand new hotel although it strangely doesn't have a flatscreen TV in the rooms. The junior corporate 'suites' are really just a room with a bed and a sofa, for some reason I thought a suite meant you would have a separate bedroom and living room area. For the low price I was not disappointed though. The rooms were otherwise very clean and modern. You could slightly hear the airplanes taking off/landing due to the airport proximity, but it didn't bother me enough to affect my sleep.

They have an awesome restaurant (Chop) on site which is a bit pricey but delicious (~$20 and up for entrees). It's apparently a chain and probably found at most Sandmans but it was new to me. Apart from the restaurant it also has a Denny's, rental car facilities on site, a business centre, pool, and fitness centre.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating for a late checkout. The free shuttle service for the airport was about a 15 minute wait after I got my luggage.

Overall a great hotel and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeviTrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I planned on staying at the Sandman however we weren't going to arrive in Winnipeg on the date we planned. We called the hotel and cancelled in accordance with their policy (24 hours, etc).

We just returned home and found out that they still charged us one night stay. Their reservation number is of no help and we'll have to charge back with our credit card company now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fyzhix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We love this hotel. It is spic and span clean. Excellent service. The front desk personnel truly care about their jobs and their guests. Very professional. They remember their returning guests and are always accommodating.
They also are very understanding and cater to any special requests and needs.
We love the amenities: pool, convenient business center, excellent fitness facility, and beautiful modern decor with local photography.
It is the only hotel that we stay at when we visit Wpg. *Needing "hypo-allergenic" accommodations, we always feel confident staying here. Would highly recommend this hotel.
Good value as they have very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Although there is not a continental breakfast, their is a Denny's onsite which is very convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#26 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#16 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#21 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport
Address: 1750 Sargent Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0C7, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located minutes away from Winnipeg International Airport and a short 10-minute drive to downtown, Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport offers guests the perfect combination of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Winnipeg Airport
Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing