We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best in Winnipeg!”
Review of VJ's Drive Inn

VJ's Drive Inn
Ranked #15 of 1,637 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Still the Best in Winnipeg!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to VJ's for over 25 years since I was a kid and my parents would take us there as a treat after church on Sundays. Winnipeg has some of the best Greek run greasy spoons anywhere and although I frequent others in my Top 5 more often, the VJ Special is still my hands down favorite "fatboy style" burger. Add an order of fries to share with the wife and a milkshake and you're in foodie heaven.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    103
    23
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

VJs is one of the p[laces that I usually go when in Winnipeg. The burgers are freshly made and the french fries are "homemade". It is not an extensive menu., but they "do what the do, do well".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Quick Burger”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Honestly - this was the best greasy spoon burger I can remember! My husband and I both got the special burger and its combination of chili, cheese and accessories was to die for! A huge burger and fabulous fries - we couldn't even finish, but it was so good we wish we could have. No room to sit down here, but worth picking up, for sure! Don't miss out on V.J.'s.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordandjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

By Far one of the best places in Winnipeg for a real
good Burger and fries, Wish they had Fries with Chili
or Gravy Cheers Tim

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IB_TIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Classic burger joint!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

VJ's is a Winnipeg institution and serves the best burgers, dogs and fries. Simply can't be beat at 11:45 am or 11:45 pm! You have to make the trip and enjoy!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FreakinCold5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VJ's Drive Inn also viewed

 

Been to VJ's Drive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing