We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, service, and environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of In Ferno's Bistro

In Ferno's Bistro
Ranked #35 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $89
Cuisines: Canadian, French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, and environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Make a reservation to dine at this gem! The restaurant has lots of little nooks to eat, so there are lots of opportunities for privacy even though its packed!

Food was great, ribs were moist and meat effortlessly feel off the bone. Great pasta dishes, sauce was tasty and well seasoned. Service was great, server made jokes and was good about my dietary requests. There isn't much to select from for those with vegetarian/celiac needs -- just salad. But at least the salad was good. The bread basket was filled for others a few times, and was not charged for this too. Excellent wine list. Desserts are great. You pay for what you get - the bill will be between 150-200 for a table of 4, for a three course meal and wine, but worth it!

This restaurant is great, I haven't been disappointed and each time I bring guests there, everyone is happy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegJennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    81
    21
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorette
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience... again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

It's been a couple of years since we've been and we're not disappointed. It was a pleasant summer evening so we ate on the patio. Furnishings were quite comfortable and we didn't feel crowded. Service was good and offered choices and opinions which I consider important. Choices remain varied representing foods from Manitoba. Good selection of appetizers, we chose the Lobster pot-sticks, excellent. For our main course we had pickerel and duck. Pickerel was fresh and delightful. Duck was good although for my liking perhaps a little bland but still good.
Overall I was not disappointed. They have not lost their touch or become lazy because of their success. Food and service continue to be great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
451 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Wonderful outdoor dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

In the past week, I have had lunch twice on the patio at In Ferno's Bistro. Both experiences were very positive with excellent food and firendly professional service. The corn bread in the bread basket is fabulous. I really enjoyed the Duck Confit sandwich on my first visit. It is basically tasty "pulled" duck with peppers and jalapeno jelly served on ciabatta. Your choice of soup, salad, or fries. I opted for the salad but the fries looked awesome! My husband had the BBQ chicken sandwich which he very much enjoyed.
Today I had one of their specials which was a grilled salmon fillet over greens with fresh fruit (apple, pineapple, blackberries). It was wonderful. My friend had the Thai beef salad and she thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommend this restaurant....especiall when you can enjoy the patio.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had the elk wrapped with bacon. Chewed forever. Chocolate desert was small, plain but tasted pretty good. My wife had the arctic char dinner which she said was fine. She said the lunch specials are much better

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4frtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We always return back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Infernos has become our go to bistro in the city, never disappointed. Try the crab cakes, to die for. Consistent good food and service. Love their Saturday brunches! If you are in Winnipeg, definitely go to Infernos Bistro.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Ferno's Bistro also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to In Ferno's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing