We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing selection for vegetarians, otherwise good.”
Review of The Current - CLOSED

The Current
Price range: $25 - $101
Cuisines: International, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Transit: The Forks Market is serviced by Winnipeg Transit’s the Downtown Spirit, route #38. Winnipeg Transit routes #14, 19, 53, 54, 55, 57, 59, & 68 all stop just a five minute walk away!
UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A disappointing selection for vegetarians, otherwise good.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This restaurant has a lovely setting, good decor, friendly staff, and the food is good - but... there was only one offering for vegetarians, and that was pasta. A very uninspired dish to offer the non meat eater. They clearly have a good chef so I am surprised this was all he could come up with. That said the past was very good. And dessert was good too. So all i ask is - offer more choice please!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service from Jereme”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were staying at the hotel (Inn at the Forks) so this was very convenient. We had breakfast here and enjoyed our meals. The portions are quite large, the prices are reasonable, and the service was excellent (our server was Jereme). We would definitely eat here again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten free options!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I ate dinner and breakfast here and was really impressed. Food was delicious, presentation was beautiful, and service was top notch. My food has to be gluten free and they took great care to prevent cross contamination. I'll dine here again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank topnotchplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place to gather with girlfriends!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We love going to the lounge at the Inn at the Forks. The Current serves lovely food (the huge shrimp and salad on the martini glass) and has a nice selection of wine. It bright and comfortable with a beautiful view of the Forks. We go back there often for the food, ambiance and good times with friends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egyptianlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of my favorite dinner stops on a night out.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I love the menu choices here. very Manitoba, and the food is always prepared just right. The location is perfect if are dining out before heading to show or other event.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Current also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing