We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thida's Thai

Thida's Thai
Ranked #58 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Brandon, MB
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

It was ok you can choose the spice that you want on scale from 1 to 10. Maybe it was just what we ordered but we didn't love it.

Helpful?
Thank Sunchasers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Thaitastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I went here for lunch with my girlfriend, and we both enjoyed our lunch. I had a red curry seafood meal with a spicy level of 9. It definitely ha a good kick to it. You can go with something more mild if spicy foods is not your forte. My girlfriend had a green curry tofu lunch (medium hotness) and that was good as well.

The service was good, even more impressive since we caught the lunch time rush. Or least it seemed to us like we did. Atmosphere of Thida's Thai was good also. I would recommend this place/come back again sometime.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBMatt1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One dish out of three was worth eating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've eaten Thai food in many cities. This was below average. The vegetables were basically raw. Actually, the salad was the best thing we ate. At least it was supposed to be raw. In the other dishes, the pork and the chicken seemed to have come from the same animal.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Visiting0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Wonderful food - and even more wonderful experience with our hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Absolutely delicious Thai food authentically prepared. The restaurant is tucked behind a couple doors and maybe not so obvious when you enter off the street, but once the hosts walk you back into their restaurant, it is a quiet, pleasant and nicely appointed restaurant. Our host was very kind, and a fun man to talk to. An older Thai woman, the owner and chef, came to our table during the meal to greet and chat with us, so that was a nice touch. We felt like we were visiting friends we had known for years.

The Spring rolls were to die for, the coconut-based seafood soup was the most flavorful I had ever had, and being a native southern Californian, I've been to a LOT of Thai restaurants! The salad was fresh and crispy and the noodles dishes were superbly seasoned!

On top of all that, we were first and second time visitors to Winnipeg, and our waiter told us about the annual Folklarama events currently under way in town where 40+ countries feature their food and culture over a period of two weeks in shows and dinners. He found the address for the event headquarters. We went there after our meal, and discovered that the Brazil Carnaval Pavillion show would be starting in about 20 minutes at the nearby Winnipeg Convention Center. We enjoyed a 45-minute show with a 12-member troupe of Brazilian musicians, singers and dancers that was phenomenal.

I can't say enough good things about the WONDERFUL food and - even better - the warm and friendly owners and staff of Thida's Thai!!! Great people. We had lunch at a Dimsung, but if you really want a patient, friendly, helpful and relaxed dining/cuisine experience, go to Thida's Thai! I would have to say that our meal there - and the conversation - was the highlight of our trip to Winnipeg!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rawrainforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
729 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very good food served quickly. Pleasant space for eating.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thida's Thai also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Thida's Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing