We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pasta sauces, fresh green salad with lotsa character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tre Visi - CLOSED

Tre Visi
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
winnipeg
Level Contributor
172 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great pasta sauces, fresh green salad with lotsa character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

What a great place! Not too huge so the noise level was not crazy.

Wonderful serving staff and very tasty meal. Everything was fresh and delicious with amazing light touch. Gluten free pasta was absolutely perfect...hard to do for most, it seems. My not GF friend was amazed. Chicken and several varieties of mushrooms in sauce were tender and flavourful.

Tiny little quibble. Very cold draft should someone arrive while you are dining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“mediocre at best - a few tweaks and this place might have potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This little known, hole in the wall italian place was very well reviewed so with my better half we decided to visit. I've been to italian restaurants large and small, and sampled a plethora of dishes. This place fell rather flat for me.

First, nearly every italian place has some sort of bread served to you. Tre Visi's was mediocre at best. Cold, chewy, and a stale crust. Adding olive oil and balsamic on the table would have been nice...

Second - the wine... a decent list but certainly nothing to write home about.

Third - the food was simply OK... at least from my perspective. I had their italian sausage penne... forgot the name of it on the menu. The pasta was done just fine, the sauce had a nice kick (which I like) but the sausage lacked character. It was very run of the mill.

And finally desert... now THAT's where this place has it right with their flourless cake. However, my sorbetto had large ice chunks in it meaning it was NOT done right.

Overall I would go somewhere else to spend my $100 bill, but lesson learned. If I'm ever back in Winnipeg I will go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Overlooked Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I can't believe how many people in Winnipeg don't know this place exists. Just dined there on a Wednesday night before a concert at the MTS centre so possibly busier than usual, but food and service still first class. Have dined there before and always an excellent experience, from food to service to ambiance. Ignore the negative reviews, which seem to me to be a little pretentious, why change the interior if it has a pleasant and old-fashioned feel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giardino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Damn Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Service was top notch. Good wine list. Food was expertly prepared with top quality ingredients. Great ambiance. Restaurant was full on a Monday night. Definitly a must try.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jugernawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Yup....my weakness is truly Italian food...and Tres Visi offers up some of the best available in Winnipeg. As soon as you step foot in the restaurant your taken care of and seated right away. I highly suggest making reservations so you won't be heart broken. The service was great and meals were even better...try it you won't be disappointed !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank up4it52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tre Visi also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing