We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor coffee” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fyxx

The Fyxx
Ranked #982 of 1,625 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

After a day walking the streets dropped in for coffee. It was not at all good. Very disappointing. Place looked rather dowdy as well. Overall not a great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank margojdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good place for an Americano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love a cheap, strong Americano. This place delivers. I also like spending my money at independent coffee shops so of course I like this. The one awkward thing I notice is that some of the clients are in wheelchairs but there is no easy access for them.... I'm okay with holding the door but I think it would be awesome and inclusive for the owners to somehow make the place more accessible. There is a nice little patio to sit on in the summer, or you can take your coffee to the middle of Broadway and enjoy some flowing water while you sip and people watch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melania_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not completely good experince there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I like the atmosphere of the place, very inviting and not very busy so its good for studying or reading. They have numbers of popular sandwiches and dishes however, they are not prepared or cooked properly. For example, i had chiken teryaki sandwich couple days ago and the chiken was tasteless and cold when it supposed to be rich in flavour and grilled. their carry chicken sandwich was awefull because the carry sauce or dip wasnt prepared properly it was like i was eating sand.Their prices are very high comparing to the low quality of food. Their service is not bad but sometimes its really annoying. Last time i went there i saw a customer walk through the door waiting to be served and the workers were sitting chatting on one of the tables and not paying attention if there is any customers at the front disk waiting, eventually the customer walk away. Maybe bill hanging at the top of the door or any kind of sounds start when the door open would solve this problem. I will continue to go there from time to time to enjoy the coffee and the place hoping the good quality and prices would help to keep me loyal customer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zimbardo-fa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Great soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Usually visit during lunch. The soups and sandwiches are very good. Getting a table can sometimes be tricky.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 154954Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love the fresh food and homemade bread and dressings at this place. I usually have the chicken sandwich with the peach salsa, which is absolutely delicious and a market salad. I am sorry that the Dakota location closed, but am happy that the one on Broadway is still open.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fyxx also viewed

 

Been to The Fyxx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing