We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite summer brunch venue revisited on a sunny winter day” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Grill

Star Grill
Ranked #104 of 1,625 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
winnipeg
Level Contributor
172 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A favorite summer brunch venue revisited on a sunny winter day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our table in the sun was heavenly after weeks of grey skies! Very pleasant service unfazed by our gluten free toast request. We had the cosmic brekki which is a kind of all in calorie indulgence. Yummy and worth the trip. Noisy familea et al had not arrived when we left shortly after 11

Nice day for a walk across the bridge to Assiniboine Park. What's not to like?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“overpriced and over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Fancy atmosphere, mediocre service and food was very overpriced and not overly special. Sides were over salted to the point I actually said something about it and the response was uncaring nor concerned

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smellbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
435 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lunch at the Star Grill was a pleasant experience. Service was pleasant and efficient. Portions are very adequate. Reuban sandwiches were great; special of the day was a denver on multigrain and it was excellent; Brie and cranberry was yummy. Sanadwiches are served with choice of soup, salad, or fries. Fries are the old fashioned home-made ones worth the calories. Salads are crisp and tasty. The desserts look fabulous but one never has room to try them! Very busy so reservations recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went for breakfast for the first and last time. This tiny restaurant is so noisy with small children, families and one very loud obnoxious woman who talked constantly. That part is not their fault. However the hashbrowns were terrible .....cold and as I said just plain terrible. My toast was over toasted. My husband`s omelette was not great. Coffee was terrible. This restaurant is over priced and just not a pleasant experience. We had a nice server. The deserts looked great but we just wanted to get out of there. I am a senior so I would say young people perhaps don`t mind the noise. We found it louder than any restaurant we have ever dined at. We found $30 for breakfast too steep. BYE, BYE!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BHAPPY03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Always enjoy going to the Star Grill. Usually save the experience for a special occasion, as food, desserts and wine are a little out of our normal price range but alway delicious with great presentation. Great food, with many choices, excellant friendly, informative service in a neat atmosphere. Strongly recommend dinner reservations as place is small and very popular, lunch and breakfast you could probably get in anytime. Tarot card reading available late in the evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ramblinmanWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Grill also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Star Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing