We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast”

Promenade Cafe and Wine
Reserve with OpenTable
Promenade Cafe and Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,647 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Provencher & Tache
Transit: We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.
Description: Promenade Cafe and Wine is our modern French Restaurant in the heart of Winnipeg's French Quarter, Saint Boniface. Our French Comfort food is homemade from Local ingredients and scratch made dessert are offered at reasonable prices. Our special events facility is the Historic Fort Gibraltar which our company won the best small business of the year through Tourism Winnipeg.
Winnipeg Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently went to the Promenade for breakfast. When I arrived there was only two other people in the cafe, and that is a poor sign. But I was pleasently surprised. I had the breakfast special and it was well prepared and attractively served. The waitress was very pleasant. When we left there was lots of people there. I would recommend it . The coffee was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    72
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome food, poor service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'll start by saying: the food here was GREAT. From the soup to the entrees and desserts, all was really good.
Now the service: fair at most. We waited about 15 minutes to be asked for drinks and then about 10 minutes more to take our order. so, 25 minutes until you can order is quite a while. The food took a little bit as well (ok - quality food takes some time to prepare). But then the main dishes came in - and the soup came LATER. That's a huge no-no. Your starter after the main dish? Come on!!!!

Well, we will come back because the food was great, with the hopes of being better served. But in the case we're not, I doubt we will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rafaelrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Rustic French Cuisine!!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went for the first time to Promenade Bistro last night for our 'early' Valentine's Day dinner. What a great choice! The atmosphere was cosy, the food delicious and the service absolutely perfect. Loved that there were many choices for 1/2 orders. My husband ordered the beef bourguignon and absolutely loved it and I had the half order of the pork medallions in the brandy/maple sauce. Delicious does describe it. We also ordered the full order of calamari and half order of mixed bread basket (which was quite a lot). It has now become one of our favourites and we definitely will be going back soon.
P.S. The waitress let us know that there is entertainment brought in on Saturday night's. Venue is a mixture.... and reservations are a must for that day. Ask to be seated in the dining room if you'd like to be closer to the music and it has an added plus in that room as the view of the bridge and the river is beautiful. It would be especially nice for tourists too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keen2cplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD - GREAT VIEW”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We like French cuisine, so were disappointed to learn that the Provence Bistro at the Niakwa Country Club had closed. A little research, and we learned that Mr. Brandson had moved to a St. Bonifice location with a new name.

The Promenade Cafe is located in the French Quarter, just across the Provencher Bridge, offering fabulous views of downtown Winnipeg. The delight for the eyes was more than equaled by the delight for our taste buds.

Be sure to make a reservation. By the time we were ready for our desserts the Promenade had all tables filled.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Provencher Bridge & CMHR!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We enjoyed the Provencher Cafe and Wine during Dine Out Winnipeg 2013. This was our first visit to the restaurant. We ate in the back room and, because the room is surrounded by windows, had a beautiful view of the Provencher Bridge and the CMHR! The food was very good - interesting warm and cold pea soup, beef bourgignon. Unfortunately they ran out of some added bacon for the soup and also the creme brûlée for dessert. Other desserts were used to substitute, if one wanted. Service was good but some items ordered need some reminding. There is entertainment on Saturday night as well. The subtle, jazz-like music and songs were most pleasant, but there was no need for a loud, belting female voice. Too loud for the small space!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bear003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Promenade Cafe and Wine also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Promenade Cafe and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing