We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For all your vegan needs”
Review of Mondragon Bookstore & Coffee - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mondragon Bookstore & Coffee
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For all your vegan needs”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's been a while, unfortunately, since I've been at Mondragon. I remember the staff being extremely friendly and the food was great. The Southern-Fried Tofu Burger was my favourite! Hope to return some day soon

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Krahnological
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best cheesecake and soup”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love the atmosphere - the scent of the spices and coffee, the counterculture types who tend to work and frequent the place, the old building and furniture, the posters and art, the mission and organization of the place as a long-standing experiment in participatory economics. It's on the outer edge of my lunch radius so I don't get here as often as I'd like. It's also tough to drag lunchmates to a vegan place. Still, I've been coming here as often as I can for 10-12 years, say 5-10 times a year.

How's the food? Well, let's start with dessert. I love the cheesecake. Sure, it's vegan so it has a different texture from the usual. If you can get past the comparison to regular cheesecake and enjoy it on its own, you're in for a treat. The chocolate cake is another staple almost always available. The rest of the family doesn't like the atmosphere or the vegan thing here, but they'll send me on a special trip just to get the chocolate cake.

Soup is another triumph. I can only recall finding the soup ordinary once. The rest of time it has been fantastic. Whatever the strange names of the soup might be, they come packed with flavour.

I almost always have the Southern Fried Tofu sandwich. I used to alternate with the veggie burger, but I haven't tried the new version enough to comment. Chickpea roti is good if it's available. Occasionally try a special, but when I think Mondragon I think SFT and cheesecake, and this is the only place to get them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg, canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My first and last experience at Mondragon . . . Don't understand what ppl are raving about . . . just came home from having dinner . . . ordered dragonbowl, ingredients were: a lot of greens, about 1/2 cup of rice, a few shreds of beets and carrot, three slices of cucumber, two small pieces of tofu and some dressing . . . taste was very bitter, the rice was good and wish there was a tad more of it, the tofu tasted good too, if there were more than two mouthfuls . . .

my son had a burritto with corn chips, i had a taste of it, and it was just ok . . . could not really distinguish what the ingredients were or what the white stuff on top was.

all in all, i'll pass on returning. . . . the staff was mellow and not really interested in explaining what was in what dish, the service was ok . . . the place needed a cleanup, the music was FABULOUS!!! really good roots raggea . . . it would be worth a trip just for coffee and music!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jitterbug66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vegan eating”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Being a vegan is sometimes difficult when I want to eat out. thank goodness for Mondragon. I know all the food is vegan and delicious. I wish I could cook that well at home. not only is the food excellent but the atmosphere and friendly and relaxed and they don't care how long you stay. Mondragon also has a small food and book store so I can pick up what I need. They have been around for years and there menu has expanded a great deal. It just gets better and better.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of different culture”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a super unique place! It is all vegan and tastes delicious. While there you can visit the bookstore with lots of different cultural views.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondragon Bookstore & Coffee also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing