We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gluten free meal”

Mona Lisa Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #189 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great gluten free meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here a few months ago for our anniversary. I was happy that they had a good gluten free menu and my gf pasta was great! My husband (who is not gf) had a rice dish that was not so good, it was quite mushy. The table next to us also ordered that dish and we overheard them remarking the same thing! I was disappointed that they were out of a chocolate gf cake that I was looking forward to trying. But I had pistachio gelato that was fantastic! There was live jazz music playing which made it a nice atmosphere I would go back but I don't know if I can talk my husband into it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    30
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way to expensive, crappy service, half decent food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went for a retirement dinner with a large group. The arranged deal was a buffet, which was a bit of a joke since there really was no selection, just one each of pasta, salad, bread, meat, veggie. I would not mind that, but not for 35$, not yet including dessert. Dessert was supposed to be optional, but they just served it without asking, for another 5$. They applied a 8$ mandatory tip to that, so after taxes I paid 58$ for the meal, having had only water to drink. I don't know if I have actually ever paid more for a meal in Winnipeg for one person. Staff was unfriendly and pushy. If I wanted to end on a good note, the tomato sauce they served with their appetizer bread was very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“lovely dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a lovely place! My family and I love going to Mona's!! There's something for everyone to enjoy on the menu. The service is fantastic and the young, dynamic staff are always willing to help and give their own personal recommendations. We'll always keep coming back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the most overrated dining experiences ever. Some of the most flavourless, bland pizza I've ever had, and also among the most expensive. Would not be worth it at half the price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hal U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ahhh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

this is just such a great place... best italian in winnipeg. They have great staff the best wine selction with anything you order. and great staff

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DYCanada_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Mona Lisa Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing