We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Head Pub

King's Head Pub
Ranked #46 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I love love love their curries. Best I have ever had. Perfect to kick back with a beer, curry and try their Scotch Eggs with fruit chutney for an appie! Very well done.

We go in early evening so it is still quiet, and relaxing. I love the Irish gentleman at the bar. He is a charmer and very friendly and helpful.

It's not really a restauraunt, more a pub that serves food, so as long as you go in with that mentality, the service is great! lol No servers, you order everything at the bar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBernerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    70
    30
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dirty and bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Menu and food both gross. Service is the pits and its cleanliness leaves much to be desired. Watched wait staff use same dirty rags to wipe off the same tables and bar most of the evening. Yellow Dog is a much nicer spot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing, great place to hang out, have a beer and eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent two nights in Winnipeg and ate at King's Head Pub both nights. It took us a while the first time we were there to figure out the system to order. We ate upstairs (indoors) and figured out that you had to go to the bar to order your beer and ask for a menu. But the bar tenders were super. The Irish bar tender was so gracious and helpful (gave us tips on what to do the next day). The beer selection is outstanding, the atmosphere is extremely relaxing, the food is simple pub fare. I had great lamb curry the first night; my husband had a burger. We were both pleased. The chicken sandwich was also good, and my husband's fish and chips (second night) were outstanding. Great neighborhood; eat outside if you can. enjoy the area and the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sycamoresue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Coolest pub in the city. Fantastic venue, awesome entertainment, wide selection of beverages. Good crowd.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank aschlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good English Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice English Pub. Lots of different beers and a good variety of food. Fantastic large cesear chicken salad.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Head Pub also viewed

 

Been to King's Head Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing