We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No gusto!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homer's Restaurant

Homer's Restaurant
Ranked #223 of 1,625 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“No gusto!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Greek salad was ok except for the big piece of core in it. I had steak and prawns, no seasoning on anything! Not the steak, not the shrimp, not the veggies, oh the lemon potatoes had lemon on them. There was some not so Greek sweet potato hash on the plate, big pile of mush! My sone had the veal cutlet sauce on the side. Omg 2 pieces of rubber with barely any breading and no crispy fried goodness withe the same bland sides. Caesar salads were limp romaine with whole mustard seeds in the dressing? BBQ ribs had mustard seeds all over them too.
When I told the waitress about the seasoning or lack of salt and pepper, she said "oh, we don't salt anything" how can you not at least salt and pepper any of the food? My wife's avgolemono had no chicken or rice in it.
Won't go back.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josepaseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet lunch place with great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We ate a weekend lunch at Homer's and enjoyed the meal, service, and restaurant atmosphere. We were able to converse without loud music or other diners sitting too close (to overhear). The starter soup was tasty and our main courses were very good, served with a side of vegetables and lemon roasted potatoes.

Homer's was a good place to test out Greek food. The ample servings, which were not overpriced, were a major plus for a couple who eats out on a budget!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank relaxreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“3.5 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was wavering between a 3 and 4 for this one. For whatever reason I don't think I've ever had souvlaki that I thought was really good - even in Greece. It's always just "okay" for me and this place was no exception. However, the pita and dips and moussaka and other dishes were all quite excellent. Beer selection could be improved. Good service. We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northropfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic, genuine Greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wide variety of authentic Greek food, with some particularly good vegetarian options. Homer's serves what is likely the tastiest potato I have ever eaten.

Staff are friendly, professional, and helpful. Atmosphere is a bit foreign, but perhaps that's what you're looking for in a Greek restaurant.

Overall, I have no complaints. My experience here has been nothing but positive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Greek Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant to order Greek Food from home! The only downside is that they do not deliver so you have to pick it up. The greek food is the best in the city! I love their moussaka and greek salad! The moussaka melts in your mouth! I have never had a bad meal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homer's Restaurant also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Homer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing