We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of Fusion Grill

Fusion Grill
Ranked #74 of 1,641 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Canadian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Credited with serving the best food and dining experience in Winnipeg featuring a "new prairie cuisine." Fresh fish is served the same day it is caught. 100% grass-fed beef, bison and elk are sourced from reputable local producers. Organic wild rice, produce and pulses are carefully prepared to create wholesome vegan options. Foragers comb the Manitoba wildlands to provide us with morel mushrooms, fiddleheads, chanterelles, berries and more from the Boreal forest. Chef Lorna Murdoch creates a stunning array of creative shared plates and entrees. You are going to love your food and service at fusion grill. The all-Canadian, Cuvee Award winning, wine list includes rare and highly prized labels with over 30 wines by the glass. Waiter/owner, Scot McTaggart has an intimate & extensive knowledge of the B.C. & Ontario wine regions. The bar also features unique culinary cocktails with all your favorite international spirits and an always fresh selection of local craft beer. Guests are guided by friendly, knowledgeable service people in a 41 seat dining room set with white linens, Riedel crystal and a gallery of paintings by local artist, Kirstin Britt-Hansen.
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Have been twice for lunch and both times the food and the service were outstanding. Home made ravioli with a cream pesto sauce - artichokes, olives and more...... amazing food. So good, that I had it again next lunch. Service was attentive without being overbearing - very professional. Will definitely go again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    15
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
243 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Dined with another couple for dinner. Started with the mussels, truffle perogies with duck sausage, pickerel cheeks and the dumplings. Great appetizers. Really love the dumplings and perogies. For mains we had paella, elk tenderloin and arctic char. The paella is - as always - awesome. Great fresh ingredients. Just the right amount of heat and a generous portion. The elk was so tender and prepared exactly how we ordered. The arctic char was done nicely too. The meal was topped off with a great apple crumble dessert and some Screech shooters. The server was great. Knowledgeable and very attentive. We've been to Fusion many times and always look forward to our next visit. We really enjoy the quality. Love the cohesive and well thought out dishes on the ever changing menu. Such great flavor combinations. Presentations are always a work of art. Honestly one of the better restaurants in Winnipeg. We highly recommend Fusion Grill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TnJAdvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great fresh lunch!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We ended up on Academy for business and stopped in here for a light lunch. We had the quinoa and mushroom salad and feature soup with a different salad. Simple, fresh ingredients made for a enjoyable meal. One complaint is the cheap uncomfortable chairs but good food always trumps bad decorating in my books.

Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We love the food at lunch there. The Patty Melt is my husband's favorite, the Reuben is my favourite.(made with their own made brisket). To be honest, I do not really like the lady in charge at lunch time. Too prim and prissy is a good description. Dinner servers are much better. Very small place, tables are very very close. If you do not make a reservation at lunch, you are made to feel like they are accommodating you, rather than happily giving you an empty table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Neighbourhood Gem, A Talented Chef, A Passionate Owner”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

There is something wonderful about a neighbourhood restaurant that delivers a top level dinning experience year in and year out. We have dined at Fusion Grill for over a decade and a recent dinner reminded us of why we love this place and would highly recommend it to others (even though we would like to keep it to ourselves). The owner Scot is a culinary scholar and gentleman. He will happily guide you through the menu, highlighting the ingredients, the origin of the products and the cooking style to help you make your selection. Fusion began the farm to table and local ingredient focus LONG before it became vogue and continue to pride themselves on locally sourced products. You can tast the difference this makes on the plate. As well, Scot loves his wines and although some may view his all Canadian wine list as an issue, I think it is a great idea and provides an opportunity to experience and appreciate some of the amazing wines being produced in our country. Chef Lorna is an extremely talented Chef. She flies under the radar and likes it that way but her cooking is incredible and world class. She is extremely creative and knows how to put food together in a way that builds on flavours using a range of highly skilled cooking techniques and top fresh ingredients in a way that brings out amazing flavours in a very accessible way. Everything is great so try what calls out to you. Enjoy a high level meal at a neighbourhood restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Grill also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Fusion Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing