We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffet Dining that Out-shines Served”

East India Co Pub & Eatery
Ranked #86 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Buffet Dining that Out-shines Served”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

There are only two of these retaurants in Canada. Ottawa and this one in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

All of our food selections were delicious. Where else can you sample and experiment with Indian foods and all their unique sauses and trimmings. I particularly liked the basmatti rice when I piled the black bean sauce on top. The tandoori chicken was perfect and uncharacteristically moist. The butter chicken was delicious, I went back for seconds.

A young boy sitting across from me said he was going to explode. He loved the taste of the food so much he just wanted more and more.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    75
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
225 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Many Options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have tried many Indian restaurants in Winnipeg and we keep returning to East India because of the variety. We have eaten off the menu as well as the buffet. Yes it is a bit pricey but there are a large variety of options to choose from. Most recently we dined there on a Saturday night. It was quite busy and unfortunately they appeared to be short on staff. The server we had was very quick and really pleasant. We will return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckyduck2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Take-out portion sizes were horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ordered take out from the East India Company this evening and were VERY disappointed on the portions. For $83 we got very, very little food. We ordered four dishes and they were all in extremely tiny white plastic containers. The Dhabba chicken had about five pieces of chicken with a very little amount of sauce (the tiny container was not even filled the entire way) and the meat was tough and they charged us $17 for this! When we have ordered from this restaurant at work (big orders of over $300) they mix white AND dark meat chicken pieces in this dish - I guess when you are just ordering for your family you get five tough pieces of dark meat. Besides the four dishes we also ordered barfi and the price on the menu appears to be different than the price actually charged. It was very good barfi, but not good enough to make me order from this restaurant again when I get very little food for the money we spent. Honestly, because of this experience I will not be using this restaurant in the future when we order from the hospital I work at. I've completely been turned off of it now. Maybe the buffet gives you more bang for your buck, I've never been to the buffet so I don't know, but I would not order take out ever again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Variety for a Fair Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently meandered over to the East India Co while staying at the Fort Garry Hotel. We thought the buffet was a decent price at $20.95. There were a wide variety of dishes - so many that I didn't have enough room in my belly to try them all! While not the absolute best Indian food I've had, it was still quite tasty and satisfying. Definitely worth a try if you've not been before.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordandjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swan lake mb canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Sub-par.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hadn't been here in years. Buffet menu pretty much as I remembered, pretty average and nothing special. Price HAS changed however. As an Indian food lover this place has become very mediocre. Probably our last time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East India Co Pub & Eatery also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to East India Co Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing