We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy 35th anniversary Mitzis”

Mitzi's Chicken Finger Rest
Ranked #245 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Happy 35th anniversary Mitzis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great to see a family owned restaurant 35 years old. Great chicken fingers, very quick service and low prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benplat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not legendary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

They are good, but not as good as their reputations says. Still just deep fried chicken. The ambiance is nothing special and it is always crowded at lunch time.

Helpful?
Thank JKWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Impressed...by chicken fingers?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Mitzi's is a couple of blocks from my hotel, and after hearing the hype from a couple of locals, I figured I had to try it. I am not normally a chicken finger fan, so find me surprised to discover they are extraordinary. The fingers are tender. The batter non-greasy. The honey dill dip is amazing. I ordered them with chicken fried rice which was mediocre, but the fingers made it worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NamedePlumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I don't know what everyone is raving about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I tried this restaurant after I heard all the rave about how amazing the chicken fingers are. The restaurant is downtown so trying to find parking was a nightmare. The place was empty, we were literally the only ones in there, that is never a good sign. The waiter was rude and it took forever just to get water brought to us. Once our chicken fingers finally came, well they were just okay. I can make the same thing at home & they come from a box. I would never go back and personally don't understand why so many people go here and say its good. I was disappointed to say the least.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyB196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chinese restaurant disguised as chicken place...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Ive heard the hype and Winnipegers.... You are too easily pleased. I've found many "reviews" on here are more like plugs for restaurants than actual critical reviews.... Anyhoo...The chicken fingers had the same texture as Chinese food mystery meat. Some bits real chicken, some bites I don't know what the mush was. Rice was Chinese, vegetables were Chinese, shrimp was chinese... Doesn't mean it was horrible just not expected and not how the restaurant touts itself..... The meal was well, tasted like Chinese food... Rice was very dry, vegetables were fairly tasty (chinese sauce) and the shrimp was battered in a thin tasty batter that was unlike most Chinese batters. The only really good thing I can say about Mitzis is the batter on the chicken. It IS very good. Light, thin and crispy with the right amount of seasoning. Had the actual chicken been good I'd be giving a great review, but it wasn't. And chicken is their thing.... Fried rice, shrimp or veggies..... Chicken. Sorry Mitzis but you dropped the ball.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitzi's Chicken Finger Rest also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Mitzi's Chicken Finger Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing