We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Elegant Charm”

The Gates On Roblin
Ranked #158 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Country Elegant Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my 6th visit to the Gates Restaurant to experience their outstanding Sunday Brunch. Let me start with its location, just a couple of minutes outside the perimeter of Winnipeg down a tree lined road. What catches your eye immediately is the White Picket fenced field in front of the restaurant containing 4 horses lazily walking and grazing. This alone sets the mood for a memorable experience, but once you walk into the charming old 2 story mansion, you are immediately taken back to a quieter simpler time. The food never disappoints you, offering everything from fresh made crepes and waffles, fresh omeletes to carved beef with all the trimmings. A great variety that will please even the pickiest appetites. The service is always consistently good, but the best part is the dessert. The variety offered is unbelievable, try the macaroons, home made rum balls, chocolate torte, lemon almond torte and my all time favorite Red Velvet Cake. This restaurant offers a wonderful satisfying experience that keeps you coming back for more and more.s

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrysP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    3
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I wanted to do something a little special with my family, and booked a private dining room for 8 people. The general setting at the Gates automatically gives a special feel to the trip - a little outside of the city it carries a rural ambience, mixed with a classy and understated decor inside the restaurant for something that manages to be very local, yet with a hint of European elegance.

The menu is strong - this is solid, high level fare, well-made with quality ingredientes and attractively presented.

The private dining room really added value for me - a chance to share some time with the family in a relaxed, intimate surrounding. No worries about noise from other tables - even the hard-of-hearing can participate and enjoy the conversation.

Service is well-intentioned. While perhaps lacking in the polish and sophistication that one might expect for the setting and the quality of the food, we were well-attended without a sense of having anyone "hovering" over the table.

Price-to-value is outstanding. While not the cheapest restaurant in the area, the level of overall quality is really quite amazing for the price you pay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank matrix0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Gates is a more expensive, upscale restaurant in the Winnipeg Area. It is located just outside of the Perimeter highway, which circles Winnipeg. The travel time and cost of the entrees are well worth it, for those special occasions. The atmosphere is unique, and the service is excellent. It is a great location, if you are meeting people who are travelling to Winnipeg from the west, and do not want to drive across the whole city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finlynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This location is amazing, the trees are lit up and as you drive up there is a rambling pasture on one side. The service is excellent and you are greeted when you walk in the door with a coat check (which you do have to contribute to) we were promptly seated with our reservation made. Our server was very knowledgable about the ingredients and was happy to give recommendations. We got our meal and everything was hot and cooked to perfection. They haev a ballroom set farther into the property. I would consider having my wedding here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Class!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Ambiance, food. service, music - all very excellent. Everyone very friendly. Diners all dressed very nicely too!! Will return someday for sure. Outside grounds/appearance well kept up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gates On Roblin also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to The Gates On Roblin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing