We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have not stayed here yet myself, but my partner has been raving about it for a year! We were finally able to work it into our schedules and when we called to book, Lowell was so helpful, and very very sweet. He was very genuine and gave some great suggestions in regards to which room to book, as well as thoroughly explaining what the hotel has to offer. We're so excited to stay in the Hawaii room!

Cory And Jeni
(Ratings from Cory who stayed there)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review. I am glad to hear that guests are coming back for a return visit. Hawaii will be a really nice get a way without going away. I love the atmosphere in the suite. Lava rock around the hot tub makes you feel like your soaking in a small volcano!! The grass rafia on the wall and the grass thatched hut are really fun. We have cork and hardwood floors and statue's throughout the room. We will surely take care of you when you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    48
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
8
341
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel because i got a coupon from the wedding show. I booked it for the night we met as we not longer have a dating anniversary. I thought it would be nice to get away from home for the night. I will break it down into categories.

I have noticed a lot of people complaining about parking but it is downtown where the city wants to make lots of money, no one is going to have free parking. We paid $23 in a parkade when we could have just parked out front if i would have known we would be up early, i would have saved $20. The parkade is not that far nor that inconvenient as some make it out to be & i have mobility issues.

It would be nice if they had a loading/unloading zone right in front of the hotel for guests. I was standing in a parking spot on the street waiting on my husband to bring the car around & some dude almost drove right into me to make sure he got that spot & my husband had to park around the corner/across the street. Surely no fault of the hotel but that was inconvenient, it would have been nice to have that one spot without having to worry about some idiot trying to run me over, he was 2 feet from me when i had no choice but to move & my husband was right behind him.

I also have noticed complaints about fire trucks/sirens which the hotel can not control. My worst sleep was at another downtown hotel as i was facing a side where snow clearing happened all night long. I didn't find it too bad here. I find that is a petty thing to complain about when being right downtown is going to have sirens.

I work in a hotel & i pride myself on my customer service which can also make me a bit jaded when i stay somewhere else. We got there the same time as another girl so of course that makes things a tad tight. The lady working was also housekeeping that day so she was a bit frazzled (i know the feeling) but she was pleasant. Due to her being so busy i didn't really get much explanation for the room & it took us a while to figure out the tv/dvd combo for the surround sound. She upgraded the other couple as their room was not ready & they had been waiting a while. I thought that was nice

I booked the africa room because of the bigger jacuzzi as i am a bigger gal & the extra room was needed. I was not told on the phone or in person this was a smoking room. I am no longer a smoker & can't stand the smell at all & my husband is allergic to smoke, he was coughing lots in the night. I would have definately appreciated someone mentioning it both at booking & when we checked in. I have read pages & pages of reviews, the only one i heard of smoking was the mexico room so i had no clue.

The room itself was ok, it was clean. I definately would never pay full price. I think if they knocked $100 off the room price in general it would be ok. My coupon was for $100 off but with the movies i paid $186 still which is the most i have paid for a room anywhere. Canad inns has theme rooms with jacuzzi for 1/2 the price. Add another $100 just for a weekend which for some reason includes sunday night is a rip off plain & simple.

I paid $15 extra for movies that were all scratched, on the website it said $10. The website needs updating as that is false advertising & just crappy business practices. Not 1 movie played properly. I was disappointed in the selection. I would have thought for a place that is all about "romance" they would have had more romantic movies. It was either porn (which we don't need in our relationship) or action movies. Very few comedies or romantic movies which would have been much more appropriate. There was a series i was interested in but they were missing the first movie, hard to watch a trio if they don't own the first one.

The lady who checked us out was very pleasant as well. I can't complain about the staff i encountered.

I try to be as fair as possible & point out both the good/bad. I don't believe in puppies/rainbows approach. I have seen the owner respond to anything negative with well usually people are very happy. That may be the case most of the time but not all the time & i find they don't deal well with negative reviews. I only gave 3 stars because the smoking thing was huge/huge/huge for me. I did not ask for another room because i needed the bigger jacuzzi. Pair that with the crappy movies that i had to pay for (with this price they should be free) & the price of the rooms i just don't think it is worth it. They make so much money & people of course are still willing to check it out so i can't see them changing it so we probably won't be back.

The $50 bounce back offer with free supper would be ok if the supper was worth the price but with my stomach issues i have to be extremely picky & can not eat a lot of things so i would have been happier with a coupon for $125 off which is the "value" of the offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate all reviews from guests. Thankfully we have more positive then negative. We will need to check our inventory of movies and replace the ones that are scratched. We have over 400 regular movies and about 10 adult movies available for use. The cost is $10 for movies only or $15 if you choose to add the bubble bath with your package. Most people add this to their stay - I am assuming you did as well. I have found most hot tub hotels are in the $200 range. I am suprised that considering you paid $186 you did not rate the value of your experience higher. Considering the design of the suite (unique and authentice artwork) and the amenities (hot tub, steam room, fireplace, 50"flat panel TV, Stereo and CD and DVD Player etc..) I think our prices offer very good value. I am happy to hear that street noise was not a concern. We have recently upgraded windows to help with this. Also, it is great to know that the location, sleep quality, cleanliness and customer service were all 4 stars or higher. The African Suite is one of our smallest hot tub suites and it is a smoking suite. Although we have had large Blue Bomber Football players stay in Africa it is one of our smallest hot tub suites. It is unfortunate, that you never told us about your discomort when you checked in. We would have surely moved you to another room that was non-smoking. We try our best to provide value for service and our goal is to always give more. It is hard to please guests when we find out after their stay about certain discomforts. Please call me anytime to discuss further. We are a small family boutique hotel and we are committed to providing our guests with the best hotel expeiernce ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Planned my 1 year anniversary in the Rome room. Amazing room, really well laid out but there was a wedding upstairs and the ceiling/floors must be thin because you could hear everything up there. Kind of ruined the experience. If you're thinking of staying here maybe think about asking if there is a wedding booked for the time you're planning on being there. With the type of money you pay for the room you'd expect it to be a little more peaceful...still nice room though....also you had to pre-order your meal and when we got there they said it would be served between 6-7 and it came at around 7:30.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
The night you stayed we had a wedding in the Jakarta suite directly above your suite. Although the guests all left the suite at Midnight, I am sure you heard some noise above. Normally, this noise is muffled and I am sorry to hear it had such a negative effect on your evening. Also, we normally serve meals in suite between 7PM and 8PM. I will have to tell our staff to let our guests know when meals will be served so that guests are not waiting. I appreciate that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the suite, the cleanliness, location and sleep quality. We try our best to provide very good value and service to guests. I am sorry that this did not happen at the level we normally deliver. I would like to sincerely invite you to call me directly to discuss your stay and any other concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

They try to charge you more money even after you've paid the price they originally quoted. They can't produce the promises they make. To make it short, they made my poor sister/maid of honours life a hell when she planned my bachelorette there. They tried to charge her and extra $600 after she'd paid the price they quoted up front. They took her out of the party many times to tell her she needed to collect $50 from every person there, after they'd already paid. They allowed a person they'd fired to run our bar, who was obviously sour and kinda ignorant. Good points, they set up the food spread for us, and had a good location close to the kings head. Other than that, they are ignorant, impossible to deal with, untrustworthy and not at all worth the migraine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your poor experience. Most guests write very good reviews on parties we have at the hotel. I was unaware of your poor experience and can not remember the exact circumstances as you stated you stayed in May and it is now November. I can say that most guests write very good reviews on parties we have at the hotel. People enjoy the service and atmosphere of the suite. A normal party starts at about 6PM. A wonderful food service is provided by the hotel and served throughout the evening. All guests leave at Midnight and the (honeymoon, anniversary or birthday) couple get to spend the rest of the evening in the suite together. The cost of the suite depends on a variety of factors (degree of detail of food service, day and date and number of guests). Most parties are in the $4,000-$5,000 range. Some guests decide to bring their own food. While this is not usually done we do allow it from time to time. Essentially, the more people who enter the room the more we charge. The cost per person can be anywhere from $50-$150/person. As I said earlier I do not remember this party and I invite you to call me personally to discuss your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary in the Jakata Room, and all I can say is WOW! and I mean WOW! The room itself was out of this world. I highly recommend this room for an experience in ultimate luxury. Outside of the room being incredible, the staff were courteous, thoughtful, and attentive with their services and suggestions making our stay as warm and comfortable as anyone could ask for.
We also had an opportunity to view a few of the other theme rooms they offer and each and every room we viewed took you to the place in the world the room was representing, they are amazing.. So if you want to be taken to beautiful parts of the world and your budget won't quite allow you to do so, Mariaggi's is the answer. It is now our place to stay when we visit Winnipeg, and we can't wait for our next visit as the India Room is our next adventure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregsandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. We have the most romantic couples stay at the hotel. Our guests have the absolute greatest experience ever and your review confirms this. It is so nice to hear of guests who come in from out of town and have a blast at our hotel. The Jakarta Suite is the largest suite in North America (3,000 sq.ft.). You can play hide and go seek in this room. However, it is the design of the room that people find fantastic. It is really like going on a mini vacation. We are so happy that you found great value and that the staff took care of you when you stayed. See you again when you come into Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altona, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed in japan, and it had state of the art shower, sauna, and hot tub. loved it! the staff was great and very accommodating and made you feel right @ home. also enjoyed the history of it. not sure when we will go back which room to choose!!!!!!!!!! want to try all of them. we have been telling our friends about it and to check it out!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjasp6077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. Japan is really romantic with the flowering tree canopy hanging over the large jacuzzi hot tub. I like all the mini lights interwoven in the tree. When the lights are dimmed and the candles are lit you really feel like you are on a mini vacation - not a hotel in Downtown Winnipeg. It is nice that you gave our customer service five stars. We hope to see you again soon on your next great escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I had booked the Mexico room for my birthday... and I thoroughly enjoyed myself! I had such a great time on my birthday. Definitely unforgettable. The two ladies that were working were SUPER friendly and welcoming! The room was really romantic. Enjoyed the amenities in the room. Staff also had mentioned the new China room.. which looks AMAZING!! Thinking about staying there next or if they have any new rooms coming up! I've recommended this place to all my friends. Can't wait to come back for another visit! :)

Room Tip: Mexico room is smoke friendly (for those that smoke)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. Mexico is a really fun suite. The flowering tree canopy over hangs the entire bed area. Many guests tell us they feel like they are in a Mexican garden when they are lounging in bed. The adobe brick work is really detailed. We took months to build the suite and we are so glad you appreciate the attention to detail we have put into the rooms. It is really good to know that our staff took good care of you. They have been with us a very long time and they really love helping the guests feel extra special. We appreciate you telling your friends about our hotel. We do not do any advertising and we really rely on positive word of mouth. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,109 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
845 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
860 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Property: Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Address: 231 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#14 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!! All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave. India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table. China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub. Some suites have direct access to private or shared outdoor spaces. Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. Mariaggi's is perfect for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons or just a great escape from the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel And Spa Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing