We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time! Definitely will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Amazing time! Definitely will be back!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I had booked the Mexico room for my birthday... and I thoroughly enjoyed myself! I had such a great time on my birthday. Definitely unforgettable. The two ladies that were working were SUPER friendly and welcoming! The room was really romantic. Enjoyed the amenities in the room. Staff also had mentioned the new China room.. which looks AMAZING!! Thinking about staying there next or if they have any new rooms coming up! I've recommended this place to all my friends. Can't wait to come back for another visit! :)

Room Tip: Mexico room is smoke friendly (for those that smoke)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. Mexico is a really fun suite. The flowering tree canopy over hangs the entire bed area. Many guests tell us they feel like they are in a Mexican garden when they are lounging in bed. The adobe brick work is really detailed. We took months to build the suite and we are so glad you appreciate the attention to detail we have put into the rooms. It is really good to know that our staff took good care of you. They have been with us a very long time and they really love helping the guests feel extra special. We appreciate you telling your friends about our hotel. We do not do any advertising and we really rely on positive word of mouth. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    48
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
8
341
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Get ready to be wowed, lift your jaw off of the floor and wipe the drool! Proabably Winnipeg's best kept secret! From the moment you walk into this historical building and hotel, you will immediately notice the intricit attention to detail in every square footage of this amazing establishment, the genuine friendliness of the staff and owners (who are on sight on a regular basis!), the authenticity of the decor in each theme suite, and the passion that the staff and owners possess to truly offer a one of a kind experience is commendable! A fabulous weekend or weekday get-a-way or bring the entire family and head to "Jakarta" or other amazing theme suite destinations. You don't need a passport, but I'm confident you will feel well rested and enjoy every second in this first class and world class establishment. There is no other hotel like this! The service is unbeatable. There's no place like home, unless you're at the Mariaggi Theme Suite Hotel! Highly, highly recommend you visit it! You won't regret it and you will remember it always!

Room Tip: Don't dine out, definitely dine in as the food here is amazing and first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WpgSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. As a small boutique hotel we take pride in providing the best service to guests. No request is too big or too small. We are grateful that you appreciate the attention to detail we put into creating the theme of the suites. Often I tell guests when they are reserving that the theme of the room is not a simple picture on the wall and a statue in the corner. We have spent many months constructing the suite so that guests really feel they are one a mini vacation. Artwork, figurines, statutes as well as carpentry, massonary and electrical elements are throughout each suite. Guests really feel they are in a high end resort when they enter the suite and often do not leave until they absolutely have to. Dining in suite is always well received as is the couples massage with our many licensed therapists. I love the fact the hotel is located in the heart of Winnipeg's Historic Exchange Shopping District. The architecture throughout the area is a National Treasure. We are lucky to have a wealth of historic buildings to examine and admire in our own back yard. I am pleased to note that you found exceptional value in your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Take a wonderful unique holiday and never leave the city! The courtesy and helpfulness of the staff was far beyond expectation. We got upgraded when we arrived to the India room----It was awesome!!!! The waterfall jacuzzi, the steam double shower, the pool table and the big screen TV which pivots in any direction, the authentic decor with candlelight and mood music. If this doesn't spice up your relationship, you are beyond help! We got massages and supper in our room. An experience we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your review. India is a great suite. The authentic works of art are right from India. The 15,000 pounds of slate took us months to complete but in the end we have something everlasting. I am happy to hear you appreciated the attention to detail and the helpful and friendly service. Massages and dinner for two in suite is the icing on the cake. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My niece was married in the jakarta suite.There was about 20 people and still did not feel crowded.The meal was done perfectly.The two employees were very friendly and made sure everyone enjoyed themselves.The suite was amazing.Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Weddings are especially important occassions that we take very seriously at our hotel. We feel we really need to strive for excellence and at your neices wedding I am happy to hear we did so. It was a beautiful wedding. It was very nice to have the ceremony in the suite, take pictures in an elegant and tropical atmosphere and have a delicious meal; all the time surrounded by very important friends and family. I am pleased to hear that our staff service was excellent this evening and that you appreciated the cleanliness and interesting atmosphere. We hope to see you again on another special occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We attended a wedding in the Jakarta suite in October 2012- it was a really good evening. The room was very interesting, giving lots to talk about; it had plenty of space with lots of comfortable seating of various types and it had EVERYTHING. Many different groups were able to sit together at a time then circulate. The multi-course meal was excellent and spread throughout the evening so we could enjoy it at leisure. The flambe dishes were entertaining and spectacular. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted wonderful!
The bar was very busy all night and the lady at the bar gave excellent service- she was very attentive. White and red wines were very good quality- full of flavour and no bad after tastes.

Room Tip: Only tried the top floor suite for the wedding, but it was an excellent venue and could be perfect f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Wow. Thanks for your review. Weddings are extra special events in the Jakarta Tropical Penthouse. We are very conscious to make the evening extra special as it really is a once in a lifetime experience. As previously mentioned in other wedding reviews we feel that delicious food is a must have. The tigre prawns and banana flambe are always well recieved. The carmelization that occors when we flame is just the right amount to add incredible food; taste that much better. It also is as you say a spectacular and fun experience.
Another very important ingredient is above average service. I am thankful to our hard working staff that help throughout the evening. From the bartenders to the serving staff to the kitchen staff - we are all commited to putting on a first class event for all to enjoy.
It is so nice that you had a chance to enjoy the atmosphere of the suite, as well as the service and food while participating in a once of a lifetime event with loved ones. I feel it is a real honor to be part of your lives this day. With thanks, Lowell Laluk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the Japan-themed room and were so pleased with all of the details the room boasted. From Japanese-inspired music upon entry to lit candles and cherry blossom scented bubble bath, everything was perfect. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious dinner for 2, delivered to our room. The steam shower and hot tub were very relaxing. Staff were welcoming and pleasant ready to provide details and information about their hotel and its services. We had a great over-night stay, without having to leave our city!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Trippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Japan is a lovely suite. The flowering tree canopy hanging over the bed makes one feel like they are in a garden while sitting in the hot tub. I am glad to see you had a comfortable stay and a romantic getaway. Dinner for two in the suite is always well received and I am glad you saw the value of dinner with us. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently held our wedding in the Jakarta suite and had a wonderful time. It was a great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly, polite, and helpful through our entire stay. They really worked hard to make sure everyone was having a good time. Everyone we spoke to said they had a great time. We heard many comments on how good the food was. It really was terrific. Fantastic ribs! We also enjoyed our stay there. Nice hot tub to relax in, big screen tvs, sound system, pool table, fire place. It's a great time and a beautiful room. Thanks again, Lowell and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is so nice to hear back from bride and groom about their wedding experience in the Jakarta Tropical Penthouse Suite. We really enjoyed hosting your wedding. It was a wonderful experience for our staff to be a part of. It is good to know that you enjoyed the tasty food - a must have for any wedding!! The ribs were an absolute home run hit. We really wanted to make this day extra special for all those that attended. I am pleased to hear that both your self and those you talked with equally enjoyed the event. We hope to see you again on a anniversary escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,109 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
845 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
860 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Property: Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Address: 231 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#14 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!! All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave. India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table. China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub. Some suites have direct access to private or shared outdoor spaces. Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. Mariaggi's is perfect for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons or just a great escape from the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel And Spa Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing