We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design; implementation needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orange, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great design; implementation needs work”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent three nights this summer at Mariaggi's. It was a nice stay, but there were definitely some things that were unexpected.

First, be aware that Mariaggi's is in downtown Winnipeg and is really just a hole-in-the-wall. It was actually a bit difficult to believe that this little entrance off the sidewalk would be the fantastic get-away seen on the web. The neighborhood itself is pleasant, but just a little bit shady - Mariaggi's even suggested we park in the parking garage around the corner instead of on the street right out front. Just that little bit of concern kinda put a damper on the visit.

Entering the hotel from the street (after being buzzed in) we climbed a steep stairwell with our luggage to the second floor. The front desk people were pleasant and had our records. While they were finishing a few bookkeeping details, they suggested we pick out from a movie selection since our stay included some free movies for the suite. This was also disappointing; at the rates being charged, it does not seem unreasonable to include free borrowing of a some DVDs. The movies were already purchased - exceed your guests' expectations by letting them borrow from your collection.

They showed us the room in which we would stay. The room design is amazing, having everything a couple would want - sauna, tub, shower, bigscreen TV, fridge, etc. The hostess showed us the room, explaining how everything worked (although there's no way you can pickup all of the details so quickly) and tried very hard to be pleasant and welcoming.

The stay was uneventful and mostly quiet, although the room's view is not one to enjoy. Fortunately, the window treatments were very nice and so we had no need to look outside. I would recommend some work be done to block the noise from the street since the restaurant downstairs can be a bit noisy sometimes.

Do not expect much in the way of service. Perhaps most guests want to be left completely alone, but we found no housekeeping. Even upon requesting our bed to be made, the room did not receive a change of sheets; rather, the comforter was literally thrown to the top of the bed with no attempt to make it presentable. Again, not the service expected at the rates we were paying.

Finally, there is no night staff at the desk. We had to leave early in the morning and were told to simply place our keys, etc on the front desk. The keys here are expensive physical keys - replacement if lost or stolen would have been pricey for us since we signed for responsibility upon check-in. It was a bit worrisome to simply leave the keys on desk where anybody could take them or they simply could be misplaced in the disorder of the desk. Again, a little apprehension put another damper on the visit.

You will pay a high rate to stay here. You will get an amazing room with many amenities. Service, however, is not one of them. If you are looking for a single night to spend with your significant other and just want to be left alone, I think you'll enjoy Mariaggi's. If you're looking at more than one night, I think you'll be disappointed.

Five stars for the room, two stars for the service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    48
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
8
341
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

It was a great time getting to be 'tourist' in our own city.
Mariaggi's gives you a self contained room for the two of you to have quality time together.
Very enjoyable!!

Room Tip: Look at pictures on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyVacationTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Mariaggi was is an awesome place to stay! The rooms were beautiful and the hospitality was outstanding! It was a great little escape to stay in. It is a wonderful place for couples to spend time together. I would definately go again!

Room Tip: We took a tour of a few of the rooms the next day and all of them were beautiful. We stayed in Rome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie_lynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We booked the Caribbean room for our Anniversary and it was awesome! First of all, Sarah checked us in and she is quick, and lots of fun. The room was VERY clean. We had lots of fun playing pool, using the steamer, and the jacuzzi. We ordered Boston Pizza from City Place and it was really good. Make sure your cell phone is on for the delivery. The bed was amazing, really comfy. Sarah showed us where the breaker panel is just in case, as the building is over 100 years old. Parking is not the best but we ended up parking on Arthur St. and feeding the meter. Bring change or pull out your credit card. Cost was $9.00 Winnipeg Free Press Cafe had a great breakfast just downstairs on the corner. Funny, cause we stayed in the Jakarta room 17 years ago, it was booked the night we were there and ended up meeting the couple staying there on the patio, and they invited us back to the room for a toast!

Room Tip: If you like playing pool, this is your room. We did not hear any sirens after 2am, when we went to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MUSKYmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I had originally booked a theme room at the clarion hotel only to arrive at the clarion after our wedding to find out the rooms are terrible and the spa is closed on sundays. We stayed the night then the following day at 1 called marriagis for a massage they hooked us up with a awsome china theme room in room diner and massages both were excellent not to mention they organized all this in under an hour. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. My wife and I will go no where else again just incredible. I can't say enough good things about mariaggis thank you so much for totally turning around our wedding plans

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trev_moffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Lowell upgraded us to the Penthouse suite and we had an awesome time. This was by far the best room that we stayed in!!

Thanks again Lowell,

Lance and Lisa

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We wanted to try something different, and that it was! We choose the Caribbean theme room. It includes a jacuzzi, steam shower, pool table, and a comfortable queen bed.

The Mariaggi is a historical building in the heart of Winnipegs exchange district, situated beside one of Canada's finest coffee shops (The Fyxx) and surrounded by great night life. (Kings Head Pub & Whiskey Dix Bar)

Its a great getaway for couples who want a romantic night out.

Parking difficulties, a small sign, and lots of stairs were my only concerns.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World_Class_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,109 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
845 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
858 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Property: Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Address: 231 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#14 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!! All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave. India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table. China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub. Some suites have direct access to private or shared outdoor spaces. Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. Mariaggi's is perfect for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons or just a great escape from the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel And Spa Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing