We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday in Winnipeg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family holiday in Winnipeg”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice and clean hotel. I found the bed was "okay" and the bed covers made me too hot at night. Also, the pillows were too soft for my liking. Good location with lots of shopping all around and close to the airport. I liked the Large suite with two queen size beds. Might stay here again but could just as well stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank notravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Notravelbug

We are sorry that we did not manage to "wow" you during enjoy your recent stay. It is our goal at Homewood Suites to make you feel at home and provide excellent service. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we take our commitment to our Suite Assurance Guarantee very seriously.

Should you decide to give us a 2nd chance on your next visit to Winnipeg, just let us know and we would be happy to remove a blanket from your bed for you, in advance, so that you are not so hot, and we can always provide a firmer pillow.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.


Sincerely,

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park
guy.hamilton@hilton.com
204.515.2126
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    102
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
151
57
22
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

There is a veritable building boom of hotels in and around Winnipeg Airport and where there was once little choice other than some quite tired properties there is now a plethora of choices – so much so that (four of the top five etc) On a recent visit we opted to stay at the recently opened Homewood Suites and were not disappointed. There were a few wrinkles, mostly related to the complimentary shuttle bus, but overall it was a great stay. I recommend this hotel if you don’t necessarily want to be right at the airport and closer to downtown Winnipeg. It is literally just between the beginning of residential Winnipeg on one side and a substantial shopping area on the other. You can walk to Winners, Wal Mart and other chains if you want to. By car it’s only five minutes to the airport and fifteen to The Forks, Winnipeg’s premiere tourist attraction.

Homewood Suites always delivers terrific bang for the buck – a full kitchen, large separate living area, complimentary breakfast every day, including lots of choices and on weekdays, complimentary dinner. A family can really save money using this option. This one even had a pool table as well as indoor pool and gym.

The staff were very hospitable and went out of their way to greet you each morning. There are a number of chains delivering great value through their all suites brands and I personally rank Homewood as among the very best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Maritimeexplorer,

Thank you for such an extensive review, our whole team were delighted to read your comments, and we are all so happy that we managed to exceed your expectations; this is always our goal.

Please hurry back and see us again so that we can welcome you home once more!

Regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for several nights here over a weekend. The hotel was VERY busy, but our room was dead quiet. Beds were great. Had a small issue with cleanliness when we first arrived, but it was promptly addressed, and thoroughly.

Great, huge shower. Big fluffy towels.

Breakfast is typical for the chain. Nothing great, but not bad. Fresh made waffles, yogurt, cereals, breads and muffins.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank furballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Furballs

Everyone in our team were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at our new hotel, and we all thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Hurry back and see us again soon!

Kind Regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, YT, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The service and staff are absolutely excellent giving a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The hotel room/suite was well designed, very clean and a pleasure to return to after long days of meetings. The complimentary breakfasts were an added bonus, with good and healthy food choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Sheila

Thank you so much for your great feedback, the whole team have read your comments and these comments have motivated them to continue the excellent levels of servcie that they are quickly becoming known for.

Thank you again and hurry home again soon to see us once more

Kind Regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here when the hotel first opened and we had no complaints. We travel to Winnipeg often and we won't be staying anywhere else. Everybody was very friendly and the room was very spacious and was equipped with everything we needed. We will be staying here again next week and are excited that the pool will be open this time, as it wasn't when we stayed last time because it was not finished yet. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_msm1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi V_msm1984

We cannot wait to see you again, we are all very excited to welcome you back to Winnipeg once more, and to welocme you home again. Thank you for your kind comments, we will keep a pool towel warm for you :)

Thanks again and see you soon

Kind Regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Yet another property that portrays itself as an 'airport hotel' when it just is not. We drove by both the Hilton and the Hampton Inn on our way from the airport to the Homewood Suites. They would have been much better locations, if I had not been deceived by the word 'airport' in the name of the Homewood Suites.

When I book an 'airport hotel', I expect:
1) frequent shuttle service,
2) a restaurant with quick service,
3) an early breakfast, so that I can have breakfast before going to the airport.

1) When I called (because you have to call, the shuttle doesn't run continuously), I was told it would be between 15 and 20 minutes. It ended up being 40 minutes. I saw two Hampton Inn shuttles while I was waiting for mine. I was told it had to do with traffic downtown, although I am not quite sure what downtown traffic has to do with the airport shuttle run?!?!?

2) Once I got there, I realized that a) the hotel didn't have its own restaurant, and b) there was no restaurant within walking distance. They offered me a shuttle to drive me to a restaurant, but I didn't want a 2nd bad experience with the shuttle. I had to order in, which was prohibitively expensive and extremely slow. My first call to the hotel from the airport was at 7:15pm, my food only arrived at 9:15pm!

3) Then breakfast was not ready by the time I had to go back to the airport the next morning. I had to pay for a bad breakfast at the airport instead.

The Homewood Suites is a very nice property. It is brand new. The gym was spacious for a hotel gym. The staff was well trained and friendly. But friendliness only takes you so far, not far enough to offset the fact that this place just doesn't cater to business travelers.

I learned my lesson. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Laurent,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest input on our service and location and apologize that you were disappointed in our airport amenities. I was pleased to read that you thought the hotel and staff created a positive impression, however we are sorry that we did not meet your airport needs.

We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward and hope that you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Kind regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We used to stay at the Hilton in Winnipeg, but were not satisfied after our last stay, so figured we would try the Homewood Suites after we saw it was newly built. Great experience! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bed was awesome. And finally a Hilton brand hotel with a towel bar in the bathroom! The gym was also great - 3 treadmills, an elliptical, and a bike, along with free weights, etc. Hot breakfast left a little to be desired, but that was really our only complaint. We never made it back in time to try the dinner or make the evening reception, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Bethany B

I wanted to write a note to say thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, we were all so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our new hotel. Next time you stay, if there is something special you would like to see for breakfast let us know and we will try our best to get it for you. It is always our aim to ensure that you enjoy every aspect of the hotel.

Thank you again and hurry back to see us so that we can welcome you home once more

Kind regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
845 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
860 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB
Address: 1295 Ellice Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equipped with a variety of modern amenities to make you feel at home, the spacious and comfortable studio, one and two bedroom suites at Homewood Suites by Hilton® Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB, Canada, are perfect for families and extended stays near Polo Park, Winnipeg. At your Homewood Suites by Hilton® hotel, you’ll enjoy a range of inclusive perks to help you feel right at home. Savor a hot full breakfast each morning and enjoy evening dinner and drinks*, Monday through Thursday. We offer a complimentary grocery shopping service - and if you forget something, there’s a 24-hour on-site convenience store. Other benefits include newspaper delivery every weekday, and complimentary WiFi. It’s all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Winnipeg Airport-Polo Park, MB Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing