We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mere Hotel
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

HI:
Stayed here June 28- 29th, 2014, Check in was quick and we were off to our room (311) which faced Waterfront Drive. The room was ready when we arrived at 3:30pm and it was clean, spacious and well appointed. The room is bright, has a retro Mad Men TV show sort of quality to it.
The hotel was quiet at night with probably the only negative to the hotel was the air conditioner/ heater unit in the room, when it would come on was noisy( had sort of a bang when it would start up and was loud).
Had a great time at the hotel and would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhlguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    205
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
103
281
24
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

While visiting Winnipeg we stayed at the Mere Hotel for three nights. Ideal location, rooms are comfortable. Staff are very courteous and most helpful, from calling a taxi numerous times to allowing use of their computer, it was always done with a smile. If we were to be in Winnipeg again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley_WGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
397 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Mere Hotel is a delightful boutique hotel along the Red River in Winnipeg. We enjoyed our one night stay in this elegant hotel. I refer to this type of hotel as a “hipster” hotel in the image of Starwood’s “W Hotels”.

While the room was very nice, I have found that “hipster” hotels do not have comfortable chairs. While the Mere did not have comfortable chairs, the beds were excellent with very nice linens.

The bathrooms have windows facing the bedroom, along with a shade, so the guest can decide to let others view their showering or perhaps just to look outdoors while showering! We liked that the refrigerator refreshment center offered complimentary fruit juice, water and energy bars. Wine and beer in the refrigerator were available at a cost.

Most noteworthy is the Cibo Waterfront Café located 30 seconds behind the hotel on the Red River, where excellent breakfast, lunch and dinners are offered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Mere has only been operating for 6 months as I am told. They seem to have it right. Most important was the accurate booking and reminder of my arrival. All the staff I dealt with over 4 days were knowledgeable, helpful and did all they could as a great Concierge would do. They were prepared for all my questions and I asked several.
Housekeeping was also excellent and no 'missed spots' in the room or elsewhere.
Electronic Facilities in the room were top notch and totally current including USB charging ports.
Definitely worth the cost and a must next time.

Room Tip: Although we had a view of the road, there was NO noise passing even with a big bus outside overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack_gelber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is well located in the Exchange district - walking distance to many restaurants. It is a new hotel and bed, bathroom, closets are all well done. The room includes a fridge which is always a nice bonus. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, and I wasn't overly impressed with the adjacent one, but there is a coffee maker (and real cream in the fridge) in the room and restaurants nearby. Try and get a room facing the river - although the city view rooms are pretty quiet in the evening as well. The only downside is that the fan is very noisy but I just turned it off at night and the room stayed at the same temperature.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Don't let the goofy outside of the hotel deter you from staying here. Mere Hotel is awesome! The decor inside is lovely and clean. The staff was above and beyond friendly and helpful. This was my first visit to Canada, and I was blown away by the kindness of the people at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the beds were amazing. The bathroom was nice, but the pipes are noisy. My only issue was with the parking. The parking lot is TINY and while you do have to pay to park there, they don't give you any sort of tag or documentation for your car. I honestly don't know how they expect to serve so many hotel guests with so few parking spots. It was a great experience overall in a lovely location. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarf00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Mere hotel this past weekend just for one night to break up a family visit. On arrival it was found to be pleasing to the eye. The counter staff was quick and pleasant.

Pros: The location is great, within walking distance of several restaurants. We had a ground floor king room and found it to be very spacious and very modern. There are even two USB plugs right by the bed. The bathroom is functional with a walk in shower complete with rainfall showerhead. Don't worry - there is a second shower head if you aren't into the overhead rainfall shower - which I am not. The toiletries were more than adequate, although nothing I had ever heard of before and I was able to get some toothpaste from the front desk. The robes provided are very plush and the towels were of decent quality. The bar fridge has a mediocre selection, but water juice and cliff bars are free for the taking! Last but not least there was a nespresso machine in the room for our morning coffee needs.

Cons: Parking. The lot is smaller, which is not the real problem in my opinion. On check in I was told to go ahead and park in the lot, I JUST needed to provide my license plate. We moved our car from another lot we were parked in to the Mere lot. There were no notices anywhere about a fee. On checkout I was made aware that there was in fact a $10 per night parking charge. That in itself is not a problem, $10 for the area is not unreasonable. I really feel like the hotel should be more forthcoming about this though. It felt sneaky, like the staff didn't want to tell me about the parking charge. Giving the hotel the benefit of the doubt I did have a cursory look st the website - no mention there. There is also no mention of it on any of the signage in the lot.

The soundproofing is not that great - I don't think the hotel was near being full but the hallway noise was quite loud and the pipes between the walls were also quite noisy. A house keeper walked right into our room at around 10 am - which was a bit startling.

One other thing is that the bathroom is separated from the bathroom with a window. Actually less of a window and more of a glass wall. There is a shade on it, but it does little to hide what the person is doing in the bathroom. And it doesn't block the light from the bathroom. I was traveling with my spouse so it was just mildly irritating, and could have been much worse if I was traveling with a friend.

In summary this is a gorgeous new hotel that will do well. We selected it over the Fairmont as the price point was similar and do not regret it at all. It was a light bright breathe of fresh air in comparison to some of the stodgy legacy hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#13 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Hotel

Property: Mere Hotel
Address: 333 Waterfront Dr | Winnipeg, MB, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Hotel ... A truly, unique boutique hotel located on the river in an urban park location and Winnipeg's vibrant Exchange District. From the hotel, it is just a short walk to major cultural venues, Shaw Park, the iconic Portage and Main Business District, the Forks Heritage Site, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and numerous dining and shopping options. Our beautifully designed modern guestroom offer a truly comfortable stay. Mere Hotel ... Winnipeg's ultimate select service hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Mere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing