We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gem in the Exchange district”
Review of Mere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mere Hotel
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were at the Mere Hotel for 6 nights and though a bit more expensive well worth spending the extra. The perks were a beautiful river view - we were in a room without the bars over the window - recommend getting one of those on the river side and the window seat is a nice place to watch the birds and other animals. The free snacks and juices were a nice addition and enjoyed the Nespresso coffee machine. I agree with the other reviews that there could have been more soundproofing between rooms and the a/c was noisy though on the low fan setting was tolerable. I think for the price, parking should be included. I appreciated that they were able to switch out the heavier quilt for lighter blankets.

Room Tip: We were in room 216 and it had the unimpeded view of the river with no bars to look through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Mere Hotel for one night after our wedding. It was a very nice and trendy hotel. First impressions of coming in at night was amazing. The hotel was all lit up and looked very fun. The only complaint that we had was that the air conditioning unit was VERY noisy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Normally try to stay at Marriott properties' whenever possible but going to stay at Mere whenever I'm in Winnipeg. The rooms at this place were nice and modern. The free snacks was a nice touch as well.

There's free parking on the road across from the hotel if you're able to find a spot. Walking distance to a bunch of good restaurants in the exchange district.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DowntownRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for several nights on a recent visit to Winnipeg and had an overall good experience. The location is convenient for downtown/the Exchange District and not excessively far from The Forks. The exterior of the building is shrouded in a curtain of multi-colored metal poles that look somewhat like bamboo, while the landscaping around the grounds seems to be still in-progress. I was surprised at how close the hotel is to the water - literally a few yards away from the river bank, with the Cibo restaurant immediately behind it.

Inside, the lobby is quite austere with maybe four chairs and a rather uncomfortable couch - one doesn't get the impression that it was designed to encourage lingering. The desk staff was young, friendly and helpful, although I was not sent an e-mail copy of my bill as I was promised by the clerk at check-out. The local newspaper is available for free in the lobby.The hallways, elevators, etc., are nice and fresh. There is a very small fitness center with a couple of machines just off the lobby area. The elevator is nice and fast - we had a third floor city-view room at the end of the hallway near the vending machines but didn't notice much noise from people using them. On the other hand there was a lot of noise from slamming doors on a couple of occasions, specifically by housekeeping staff it seemed, but in terms of room-to-room noise we didn't notice much.

It turns out that the "city view" is mainly of the small condo building across the street. The room itself is very tastefully furnished in a modernist style with a comfortable bed and a floating large flat-screen TV set-up. The thermostat control was a bit hard to figure out and had to be set lower than usual (mid-60s) in order to keep the room comfortable - a couple of times when the settings were raised slightly the heater actually came on as there was no way to designate cooling vs. heating. The bed linens were nice but too heavy for the season. The blinds were excellent and blocked out light almost completely. Space for clothing was ample and there was an ironing board and iron. Laundry service is available. There is a good-sized room safe operated with the key card, and a mini-fridge with snacks including beer, wine, and free water and energy bars. As others have mentioned, there's no room service, but carry-out from Cibo is an option although it would be better if they delivered to the rooms.

The bathroom is nicely furnished, and the dual shower heads are great, as are the Molton Brown shampoos, lotions and gels and the plush towels and robes. The problem with the bathroom is that it lacks privacy - there is a clear glass wall with a non-opaque blind separating it from the rest of the room, so when the lights are on in the bathroom you see inside it from outside whether you want to or not. There is also no fan in the bathroom and it's sliding door blocks the full-length mirror in the hallway when it's open.

Overall a nice place. Would highly recommend for single travelers, others not as much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLSMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Recently in Winnipeg for the latest of a series of working trips. The Mere is a very pleasant location (now that the weather is getting much nicer). The location right next to the river is brilliant, but I can imagine that it might be a bit cold in the winter. The adjacent Cibo restaurant is good for breakfast or evening meals. Everything is new in this hotel, and works fine. One of my colleagues in a different room said that her walls were quite thin and she could hear voices in the hall and adjacent suites. I didn't experience this. There is a special coffee machine in each room, but when I asked for tea - a kettle was promised for the room but never delivered. As I was working day and night and barely in the room, this wasn't a big issue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were more than satisfied with our 3-night stay at this new hotel. Though not that large, our King room on the third (top) floor had all the space we needed, and its design made it seem bigger than it was. The bathroom boasted both rainfall and handheld shower heads, and the all-glass dividers contributed to the feeling of spaciousness. Our bed was neither too hard nor too unsupportive, and the bathrobes ridiculously soft and fluffy, like being mugged by golden retriever puppies.

That said, there were some less-than-perfect aspects to the room design. Although there were plenty of power and USB outlets strategically located about the room, there was no outlet for wired internet, and I found the free wifi to be less than speedy. Also, they missed the opportunity to have centralised room lighting controls that one could control from the bed, as one often finds in modern luxury hotels. We found it a bit frustrating having to experiment with the various switches in different locations to figure out which controlled what light. Another missed opportunity was modern soundproofing between rooms, as we could hear muffled talking from our neighbours. A bigger issue was the noise from the air conditioning unit, far too loud to sleep through; we ended up turning off the a/c at bedtime.

On the plus side, the snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in the fridge in the armoire were free, as was coffee from the in-room Nespresso machine. On this trip we didn't miss the absence of room service, though that's something Mere Hotel should consider adding. Fortunately, a 10-minute walk will take you past at least a dozen restaurants, and Cibo is right next door.

We had a river-view room. Even though the trees were not yet in leaf, the view was still attractive, taking in the Provencher Bridge. The rooms on the other side of the hotel are billed as "City View", but in reality they just look out at the condos across the street; don't expect a panoramic view of downtown city lights, as you can't get that at Mere Hotel.

The young front desk staff were pleasant enough, and were helpful with calling us cabs and printing our boarding passes, though to be completely honest we found they lacked the polish one expects at a boutique hotel. They were also unable to resolve a bizarre problem we had with their internet, which blocked us from viewing a restaurant website because it was flagged as potentially relating to (gasp!) alcohol!

The hotel doesn't offer valet parking but has its own adjacent lot; parking is $10 a day, which we considered quite reasonable. Overall, even though I wouldn't award it a full 5 TA stars, I felt Mere Hotel provided very good value, and I would definitely consider staying there again in future.

Room Tip: River-view rooms are only slightly more expensive, and definitely worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed for a night at the Mere Hotel, and really enjoyed my experience! It's a brand new hotel that has a very cool/modern vibe that isn't often found in hotels in Winnipeg. It felt a lot more like a boutique hotel in Toronto or NYC. Beautiful shower, comfortable bed, large TV. Not a lot of space, but it's a boutique hotel so has that vibe.

Major drawback was no room service! While Cibo is directly outside of the hotel and the menus are in the rooms, it's pick up only, so you have to leave the room and go outside. Not great on one of those cold Winnipeg nights, who wants to leave the hotel??

The front staff could also use some additional training in terms of recommendations of things to do and places to eat in Winnipeg. I have recently relocated to the city, so know some places, but by no means have extensive knowledge. Even I knew better places than the ones the front desk staff recommended (Note to staff: never recommend Portage Place to a tourist. Never).

Overall, a nice plea to stay if you're planning on going out in downtown Winnipeg, seeing theatre, symphony, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleyavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,240 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,155 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Hotel

Address: 333 Waterfront Dr | Winnipeg, MB, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range: $142 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Hotel ... A truly, unique boutique hotel located on the river in an urban park location and Winnipeg's vibrant Exchange District. From the hotel, it is just a short walk to major cultural venues, Shaw Park, the iconic Portage and Main Business District, the Forks Heritage Site, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and numerous dining and shopping options. Our beautifully designed modern guestroom offer a truly comfortable stay. Mere Hotel ... Winnipeg's ultimate select service hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing