We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swanky Modern Hotel”
Review of Mere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mere Hotel
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Swanky Modern Hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Check in was a breeze, room was clean comfortable modern and very large. The shower was a high point the rain fixture on top was fantastic and the all glass construction of the bathroom looked great. However the pull down shade on the side was not very private the silhouette was noticeable. Something to be aware of if there are two strangers sharing the room. The free water juices and energy bars were quite nice and housekeeping was impeccable. Did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on its quality. Very fair pricing for a place this nice. Hotel was a little difficult to find without a GPS but nothing terrible.

Room Tip: The river rooms are not worth it in the fall winter or early spring as the ice hasn't melted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    230
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
114
299
27
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great hotel, clean and modern. Restaurant at the back has good selection of food for breakfast and meals.

Taxis are not waiting by the hotel as in other downtown hotels but front staff at the hotel are great in arranging taxi if needed. When snow melts, view will be great as the hotel faces the river and good place to walk by the river.

Would have been nice to have more machines in the fitness centre as there are only two machines and the machines are occupied in the mornings with line up at the door. The fitness centre is free in the evenings as most people prefer mornings for exercise. May not be an issue in the summer as it will be a scenic place to walk by the river.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We enjoyed my stay here. You are in walking distance to many things in the heart of Winnipeg. The rooms are simple, yet elegant, and there are some nice touches included with your stay.

My gripe... it's pricey, but really no more than the riel.

Overall we had a good time here and it was very quiet!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a great place to stay for my recent business trip to Winnipeg. The atmosphere is very trendy and modern. The rooms are spacious with tasteful decor. I cannot wait to stay here again.perhaps in the summer the next time to take advantage of the great view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a new hotel, with a bit different concept. There is no restaurant in the hotel, although there is one a few steps away outside. Too bad the restaurant is not as good as the Mere.

The bed was good, and I eventually learned how to use lighting controls.

The room doesn't really have an easy chair to sit in. I has a padded square stool to sit on, and a padded area by the window, but again with no back. There is a chair at the desk beside the bed, but I would not want to use if for watching the TV. I prefer to watch the TV in a chair rather than on the bed.

I found the glass window in the bathroom, with the light filtering shade rather odd. It is annoying if you wake the other person when you turn a light on in the bathroom. That is one trend I hope that soon fades for hotel bathrooms.

The shower is good, as it has both an overhead rainshower, and a hand shower. The shower enclosure works well and keeps the water confined inside the shower enclosure. The Nespresso machine provides good coffee, and the free water and cliff bars in the minibar are nice touches.

Location is right along the river. There is the one restaurant very close, but it is a longer walk to anything else. Won't be an issue in the summer, but winter in Winnipeg can be rather crisp for a walk.

With the European feel in this hotel I was hoping that they might have one of the buffet breakfasts like you find in Germany or the The Netherlands. It would make mornings a lot quicker that going to outside to the full service restaurant behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Everything about the hotel was great my only two issues were they charged 10$ per day for parking in their own lot and there wasn't even a block heater plug in. When its winter in Winnipeg this is a must especially if you're parked out side for multiple nights. The second was the bathroom design. One of the walls is just glass. There is a shade you can use however if the room is even slightly dark when you turn on the light in the bathroom the curtain is completely see through!! I had to ask my boyfriend to "leave to get ice" just so I could have privacy. Otherwise amazing design and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GirlAndHerSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights, and liked it very much. It is a brand new hotel along the river and next to Winnipeg's exchange and theatre district. Lots of restaurants within easy reach and a quick walk to the Forks or downtown. The staff were very accommodating. Internet access was not working for me and they worked on the problem until it was solved (by the tech company that provides the service). While waiting for the problem to be solved, they let me connect through their own system in their meeting room. Nice room amenities, especially the espresso maker, free snacks in the fridge, plush towels.

Room Tip: River view would be nice, and up from the main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharonbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Hotel

Property: Mere Hotel
Address: 333 Waterfront Dr | Winnipeg, MB, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Hotel ... A truly, unique boutique hotel located on the river in an urban park location and Winnipeg's vibrant Exchange District. From the hotel, it is just a short walk to major cultural venues, Shaw Park, the iconic Portage and Main Business District, the Forks Heritage Site, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and numerous dining and shopping options. Our beautifully designed modern guestroom offer a truly comfortable stay. Mere Hotel ... Winnipeg's ultimate select service hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing