We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel!”
Review of Mere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mere Hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
manitoba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great New Hotel!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Dec 22 - 23 for our anniversary. We were very impressed with the design, service and overall quality of this new and trendy Wpg hotel! Our room was on the first floor, was fresh and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were extremely pleased to see that the mini fridge was stocked with juices, water and snacks - at no extra charge! This is a small touch that goes a long way with customer service!
We had a few minor glitches during our stay - husband wanted his morning paper that they advertise but never received it and the water was only luke warm in our room.......however.....we understand that the newspaper service wasn't quite up and running and that they would check into the hot water issue. There are always a few knots to work out whenever opening a new establishment, that is why I still gave this hotel an excellent rating.
Cibo Waterfront Café has a great atmosphere and amazing food! And its just steps out the back of the hotel and looks out over the river....beautiful!
Front desk staff was very attentive and eager to hear how our experience was. Upon check out they gave us a gift bag filled with larger sizes of the bathroom amenities. Nice touch! We look forward to visiting Mere Hotel in the future! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    238
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
121
313
28
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014


I recently stayed at Winnipeg's newest hotel, The Mere. From the moment I checked in I was very impressed. The front desk staff was very pleasant and extremely helpful. My room was the River View King which was located on the second floor of the boutique hotel (room 212) and included complimentary wi-fi. The room was great! I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the mini fridges in the rooms were stocked with complimentary water bottles, juices and energy bars, such a nice touch. The showers in the rooms are a must! You have the option to shower under a standard shower head or under the rain shower head. The rain shower is amazing! The style of the rooms, lobby and hotel are unlike any other in Winnipeg, definitely what Winnipeg needed. I love the fact that the hotel is located on the trendy Waterfront Drive and is in walking distance from restaurants, The Forks and the Exchange District. Perfect location! I look forward to my next stay at this property.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I booked Mere Hotel for NYE.

The hotel looks beautiful and is very clean!

We only have to small complaints...
- The water in the shower didn't get very hot but the hotel was full that night.
- we had the pay $10 for parking that had no plug in. The cost for parking is low and we had no issue paying for this but the fees are not stated on the website and your booking does no indicate that parking is available at a cost- it just says that there is self parking available. Mere should look at updating this information

All in all- it was a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Beach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Marion McKenzie, general manager of the Mere Hotel, and her fabulous team know how to treat a guest. We stayed at this new establishment during the Dec 27/28 storm. We rushed out early in a feeble attempt to make it to our country home. Returned to the Mere. They checked us back in, treated us like royalty, allowed a late check out and wished us well. We can't say enough about this fantastic team! Thanks so much. The Mere is definitely MORE!

Chris and Deb

Room Tip: River view was lovely! Ciao had great breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandDeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Anyone who has travelled will instantly recognize the fabulous features,design and location of this breathtaking new Hotel in Winnipeg. Even in January it put a smile on my face!

I have stayed at some of the finest and hippest hotels in Italy France England and America. The Mere fits very well in that category!

The bed, linens and toiletries were heavenly! The rain shower with views of the winter river and bright blue sky provided for a private spa experience for free in your own room!

Staff attentive, friendly and knowledgable.

Great restaurant just finished in a restored pump house on the river 20 feet from the door. I had my breakfast there every morning looking out over the soon to completed Museum of Human Rights.

One may soon be going to Winnipeg just to stay at this marvellous gem of a hotel!

The room rate was excellent value!

It made an ordinary 3 night business trip into a lifetime memory.

Just excellent! Thanks so much for being there!

Jon Brown

Toronto

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed in all of Winnipeg's downtown hotels and Mere is the the best hotel experience in Winnipeg by a country mile. The modern and beautiful room concepts are several cuts above anything available in the city.

My girlfriend and I stayed there for New Year's Eve and our room view over the Red River was simply spectacular. This is your only option in Winnipeg if you want to watch the sun rise right over the Red in the morning.

Incredibly hospitable staff and the Cibo restaurant next door is just wonderful.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We were the first couple to stay at the mere hotel dec 21, 2013 .Superb personal service, great digs & excellent location! Only thing we didn't like was no plug ins to keep car warm in wpg's frigid winter. We would recommend this new hotel anyone, the staff is very personable, rooms are lovely.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,109 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,071 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Hotel

Property: Mere Hotel
Address: 333 Waterfront Dr | Winnipeg, MB, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Hotel ... A truly, unique boutique hotel located on the river in an urban park location and Winnipeg's vibrant Exchange District. From the hotel, it is just a short walk to major cultural venues, Shaw Park, the iconic Portage and Main Business District, the Forks Heritage Site, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and numerous dining and shopping options. Our beautifully designed modern guestroom offer a truly comfortable stay. Mere Hotel ... Winnipeg's ultimate select service hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Mere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing