We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand stay at The Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the airport, but still quiet and comfortable! Good for early morning or overnight connecting flights. Great service, staff, rooms, bar and dining room. No gift or coffee shops but they are nearby in the airport and very convenient to the hotel. I will stay again and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sydney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 854 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have to say that the hotel is great and outstanding service. Breakfast was fantastic. The hotel is just walking distance from the airport, maybe 5 or less minutes. Is part of I-Prefer Hotels. However, I had one negative point and it was relate do the temperature in my room; it was very warm and the A/C seems that wasn’t working properly which is odd for this new hotel, all this added to a very nice comforter that made my bed too warm and almost sleepless night… hopefully it was fixed after I left the next morning to continue my trip outside of Winnipeg. The service, the building, decoration and food is great.

Room Tip: Be sure that teh A/C works and call to the reception...not like me that waited and waited to be cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It's literally across the street from the arrivals door at the airport. And unlike other airport hotels it's a very comfortable stay. You can tell it's a new hotel, with great furnishings. The rooms are very nice and the bathrooms are spacious - also has robes! The rooms are all iPad equipped. Room service was quick - enjoyed both the service and the hotel.

I highly recommend this for anyone who needs an overnight stay at the airport, very comparable rate to other hotels. I didn't have a chance to try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaggerbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

First of all you cannot get any closer to the airport unless you are on the runway. While that might scare some people off due to the noise I can honestly say I did not hear a single plane land or take off in the evening and morning I was in the hotel. They must have some serious soundproofing in this building. This hotel is THE most convenient and closest hotel once you retrieve your baggage. Literally it is steps away-no need for a cab or shuttle.

The beds were extremely comfortable. I slept as well as I have in years. Wireless worked great and there was an iPad in each room where you could watch Netflix for free or watch TV programming on the iPad. Very cool feature.

Bathrooms were clean and modern. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was subpar and pricey. Wouldn't recommend although the waitress was very nice.

If you have a vehicle then the parking is very confusing as the signage indicates you are to take a different route to the hotel which leads you to the front steps- not the parking area- so you actually need to loop around and use the terminal parking and park on the 2nd floor of the parking deck, take your ticket into the hotel and they will validate parking for you.

If returning to Winnipeg this is where I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed one night, staff super friendly, hotel was so clean and new. Over and above amenities, iPads to use in the rooms. Defiantly staying again. Also a plus price was comparable to most other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MeggyS0533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Awesome hotel, new, quiet, clean, staff was outstanding, room was big and modern, rate was great value. Great linens towels and technology. Location just steps really from arrival terminal. Can't say enough positive things really. Went out of my way to write review because I felt his place was exceptional in every way. Would not think about staying anywhere else in the peg!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Room was well-appointed, bright, spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet - everything was just great and in perfect working order. Location, location, location- definitely will be back to the Grand next trip to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Courtyard Winnipeg Airport
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,099 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel

Address: 1979 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1H5, Canada (Formerly The Grand by Lakeview)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range: $139 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Winnipeg James A. Richardson International Airport, The Grand boutique hotel provides true personal attention, thoughtful amenities, beautiful appointed accommodations and a memorable culinary experience. Your experience will be Simply Grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing