We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not usually a fan of Airport Hotels but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not usually a fan of Airport Hotels but...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

What an excellent hotel! I usually try to avoid airport hotels and this one is right at the new terminal in Winnipeg. However, this is a well put together property with excellent service. The hotel seems brand new and EVERY room has an iPad with which you can control the TV or simply surf the internet. The iPad all have Netflix accounts too so you can stream directly. There is Free wifi in the rooms and the restaurant is excellent too. Downtown Winnipeg is just a 15 min cab ride away so you don't feel cut off. I have stayed at other properties previously in the 'peg but I think I found my new home!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicag0J0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    151
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
184
181
87
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here after I had surgery. The hotel staff was extremely warm and welcoming. This is a quiet hotel with beautiful rooms and a great restaurant. This would be an ideal location if travelling as it's right next to the airport. We will be staying here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

On arriving at the airport very late and tired it was a joy to experience a comfortable, quiet room. The facilities were excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. Thanks to everyone. I will certainly stay at the Grand Lakeview again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel has become our favorite hotel in Winnipeg. We have stayed many times, and each and every time the friendly customer service, from remembering us by name to the personal attention, is second to none. Everyone from the bellman to the front desk staff to the restaurant and lounge staff go above and beyond every opportunity. The rooms and entire hotel are modern, clean and comfortable. The beds are fantastic. And the special bottles of water are a very nice touch. We will be staying each visit to Winnipeg, whether we are flying out of the airport or staying within the city. My husband also stays here when traveling for business for the same reasons. Second to none!

Room Tip: Love to King Corner Suites....fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hidden gem in terms of hotels in Winnipeg. Great staff, complimentary bottle of water, chocolates in room and Keurig coffee.
I didn't use it but there is an iPad in each room with apps for hotel services.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Marc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
827 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Chose The Grand, as it was one of the most economical options offered by hotels.com at $114 plus taxes, but at the time I booked I didn't realize that it was right at the airport so that was a surprise! I thought something this reasonable would be several blocks away!
Arrived early, so that I could participate in a conference call, and wanted to be settled. Staff found me the perfect room. Hotel is very green.... no plastic bottled water, no smoking, no feathers for those that have allergies. Staff are amazing...Cam, Jennifer...and the valet (missed his name), but he could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Hotel is beautiful and clean. Across the street from the airport, but amazingly quiet! Great amenities and offerings for coffee, water, a totally luxurious bathroom...and an ipad in the room so you can connect and watch netflix. Very modern for privacy. No tabs on the doors....instead you push the button by the door to turn on the light that says 'do not disturb'. Even the TV said welcome Lynda Dobbin-Turner when I entered the room!
My only confusion was the parking situation... they explained, I misunderstood... so for the early part of my stay ended up parking far away in the economy parking....but when I re-entered after the work I as doing in the city, I ended up in the main parkade which was very handy. Overnight parking is $10 per day, but they validate wherever you end up putting your car. No pool... but great exercise room room. Could be my new favourite Winnipeg hotel..... if the price remains this reasonable! Great job GRAND Team!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmertown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times since it opened. The rooms are spectacular...large, clean, comfortable, the bed is like sleeping on a cloud...the amenities make you feel special. The only problem is that the iPad system which is complimentary to every room does not work--we have never gotten the system to work as the brochure explains and nor could we get the Netflix to work either. A little disappointing there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel

Property: The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Address: 1979 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1H5, Canada (Formerly The Grand by Lakeview)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Winnipeg James A. Richardson International Airport, The Grand boutique hotel provides true personal attention, thoughtful amenities, beautiful appointed accommodations and a memorable culinary experience. Your experience will be Simply Grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing