We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern hotel with walking distance to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel is literally across the street from the airport. Great location if you are catching an early flight. Watch out for the noise level, specially if you get room with the runway view.
Front desk staff both at check in and check out where amazing, very professional, and fast service. Staff were very friendly.
Room is very spacious, modern and clean. Wi-fi works great. I had the runway view. Noise was not that bad, but for a light sleeper, it could be an issue.
Dining room deco was nice, with a lot of attention to detail. However, I personally had a disappointing experience when it comes to food and service. The server was a nice lady, but when I ordered a latte, first it came just luke warm. When I asked sugar, I had to wait for a long time. By the time I got sugar on the table, the latte was ice cold. I got them to microwave it for me. Food was so so with cold side dish. I hope the management can look at their quality and standard and push it a notch up.

Overall, it was a nice hotel. I will definitely recommend it to my colleagues and will return there myself shortly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Excellent availability from the airport. Clean rooms with luxurious bath robes
Service was excellent no wake up call after requesting one will stay again if need to fly out and don't want to travel home late

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wonderful stay. I will stay here again the next time I am in Winnipeg. The staff was great and the rooms are very comfortable. The restaurant food was great and service was great. Thank you.

A happy guest.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This newer hotel adjacent to the Winnipeg airport terminal is a frequent stay for us. The rooms and front desk service are always excellent. The bar is very good with pleasant servers and decent wines. If you eat supper in the hotel, go straight to the bar and order from the tapas menu. Avoid the dining room as it suffers from a modernist cold ambience designed without consideration for the comfort of guests. The elevator music doesn't help. Under all circumstances, stay clear of the room for breakfast. While the table service is passable, the wait time for food to arrive is intolerable. Stay at this hotel, eat your evening meal in the bar, but in the morning walk across the way for a wonderful breakfast at "Stella's" on the
departures level of the terminal.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good hotel but should have had a walkway to the airport it was cold walking across the street at 430 am
Everything else at the hotel looked very nice and comfortable - I liked the room darkening feature

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 4Summer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel and staff is a very friendly environment. The air in the room was a little dry. We ate at the restaurant and the food and service was superb. We would definitely return again. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is very nice except they need to build a skywalk from the airport to the hotel for accessibility to the hotel so that people do not have to walk in the freezing cold with their luggage to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sweetlaurene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Courtyard Winnipeg Airport
#17 of 63 in Winnipeg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,001 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel

Address: 1979 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1H5, Canada (Formerly The Grand by Lakeview)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range: $130 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Winnipeg James A. Richardson International Airport, The Grand boutique hotel provides true personal attention, thoughtful amenities, beautiful appointed accommodations and a memorable culinary experience. Your experience will be Simply Grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing