We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Reataurant in Winnipeg”
Review of Chew

Chew
Ranked #169 of 1,653 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great New Reataurant in Winnipeg”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

CHEW is a very small and cozy restaurant just off Corydon in Winnipeg. Do not assume anything from the little strip mall they are tucked into, this place is awesome and I would place them among Winnipeg's very best! My friend and I often just share a number of appies and a bottle of wine when we go for dinner, and we did the same here. We enjoyed a Grilled Asparagus Salad, a Fois Gras and Chicken Liver Pate dish and the Pork Belly along with a great bottle of wine that our server had recommended. To top it off we had a flight of Gelato for dessert. Both the food and service were excellent! We left very impressed, I'll definitely be back here again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nfriesen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent little Restaurant”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

A nice little find in an unassuming strip plaza off Corydon. Great decor, providing a cozy atmosphere for dinner. Interesting menu options, good wine selection and great service. We had the Bison Tenders served with a smoky garlic mashed potato and shaved asparagus.....very tender and flavourful. For dessert we chose the Caramel Rooibus Creme Brûlée served with warm chocolate chip cookies. Should have just ordered one dessert to share as the portion is very generous, but it was outstanding. Definitely recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great service, interesting menu, lovely presentation!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a very small cozy restaurant so do make a reservation. They serve a mean grilled cheese, unlike any you have ever had. The bread is crisply grilled and filled with melted Brie, arugula, and poached pears. Wonderful combination of flavours. The pickerel cheeks were a bit chewy but the scallion and caper sauce and tomatoes helped. I found the bottom of the ciabatta way too floury. You have the option to top up the sandwiches with truffle fries, soup (roasted garlic), or a "simple" salad....their words not mine. The soup was tasty and piping hot. The salad was abundant with assorted greens, strips of yellow and orange carrot, fennel, grapefruit and orange in a light dressing. The market frittata comes with the salad and was very enjoyable, egg whites, tomatoes and cheese. The coffee was fabulous and they have a few herbal teas that are worth trying. The dessert menu looked great but no one had room. Next time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Shelf! ”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

What can I say? The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The food was incredible! Fresh and crafted! Well done! The space is appropriate for today. The word will spread and you'll be looking to expand. I'm betting on it. Great choice by the local expert of great Winnipeg dinning. 3 for 3

Helpful?
2 Thank Tounces2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You wouldn't know it from the outside”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Situated in the middle of a little strip mall in River Heights, you could almost dismiss it as just another restaurant. But once inside, you can see it's much more than that. I would call it nouveau chic. Small and intimate with attentive service. The foie gras appetizer is a must, so rich and smooth and the octopus is worth a try as well. Main course flank steak was excellent. All dishes well presented.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank watermark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chew also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Chew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing