We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday at its Best!”

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #169 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MILTON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Birthday at its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not a single negative thing to say about this place! I have worked in many restaurants and this is one I would highly recommend to those visiting Winnipeg. The menu was precise and well selected. It was priced well for the quality, portion and selection of foods. It had extremely attentive and friendly staff. When asking for more servings they were prompt to bring them right over to the table. We had a very nice view of the waterfront. Parking was easy and cheap. The front hostess was friendly as well and took us up to our seat right away. I love fast, efficient and attentive service with a smile. This is what I got. Given it was my birthday, they made an extra effort to bring over candles and took a picture. I was impressed with the high level of service and would absolutely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERIKA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    78
    39
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awsome! - hope your hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wanted to try something different for our anniversary and decided to give Carnaval a try. We were not dissappointed. We were sat near the actual BBQ so we had a good view of the preparateion and cooking area. Some reviewers have commented on the service being slow, but we had no such issues. Just turn the coaster over, and your server will be right over. See something you like on the BBQ; just ask for it and it will be over to your table shortly. You really have to be into meat to enjoy the full experience, but they do have a vegitarian option. Some of the meat was a little salty and the meal itself was a littel pricy, but overall we felt it worth a return visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlinclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Good a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The experience was interesting and the food pretty good.
I found it a little expensive and the decor a little cheap, but all in all a great experience!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Food was OK. Service was poor. The view was very nice. I like a place with a friendly atmosphere - which this place lacked. Maybe the cook and servers were having a bad day...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loren555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
338 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“If you haven`t experienced anything better...........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is not your typical Brazilian BBQ house: it is a... Brazilian "inspired" place.

It is a beautiful restaurant, great location, easy to park. The view from the window is amazing. It hasn't been open for long, so the ambiance is nice and clean.

Once you sit down, you will have the first disappointment: they don't have a salad bar... which would be like going to a breakfast place and realizing they don't serve coffee. Hence you will not see the green leaves, hearts of palm, peas, corn, or sundried tomatoes not to mention the tons of variety (and all you can eat) that made Brazilian Churrascarias famous for.

Carnaval - like any Brazilian steak house - will bring your choice of garnishments to the table, like rice, fries, etc. The difference is that Carnaval brought very little and they don`t seem happy to bring you the refills even if they tell you that when you first come in. The garnishments were also cold and/or dried out.

The service is bad, despite the girls being pretty. Some waiters were Brazilian but they were clearly uncomfortable helping on tables, with broken English (they had some difficulty to understand the guests). The waiters in general had a subtle condescending attitude and blamed the "other servers" for us not getting the things we asked for more than once.

The meat itself was probably the best of the experience, but some cuts were extra salty.

The best Brazilian Churrascaria will impact your credit card on average $75/person but this one is cheaper and it will cost $ 50/person, (drinks excluded and 15% service included) which is the average price of a "so so " similar restaurant in another city.

If you haven't experienced other Brazilian BBQ places, you will not be as critical, in particular because of the novelty. But trust me, when you experience a good churrascaria such as Fogo de Chao or Texas de Brazil, you will not be impressed with this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cannuck1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnaval Brazilian BBQ also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Carnaval Brazilian BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing