We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Signature Luxury Suite (Sweet)!”
Review of Inn at the Forks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the Forks
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Signature Luxury Suite (Sweet)!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just had a five star stay-cation at the Inn at The Forks. The perfect way to enjoy a Winnipeg Jets game and stay downtown for the evening. Got a great package deal on an "eco luxury suite” (locally-made recycled hardwood flooring etc.)... included breakfast for two, sparkling wine, truffles, valet parking, and free shuttle to and from the MTS Centre. Gorgeous contemporary design room: "living room" (with wet bar), massive bathroom (jet tub + rain shower), and terrific bedroom (overlooking the river). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The signature luxury suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ute90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    310
    75
    22
    16
See reviews for
149
302
60
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a family event here in September. We rented about seven rooms. We were all very impressed with the quality of the rooms and the service. The staff were exceptionally fast and courteous in bringing us extra items as we needed them. Beautiful rooms, beautiful views. Such an excellent location too, trendy lounge for live music for the adults at night, splash pad and play structures for the kids during the day. Love it! But, some guests cell phones didn't work on property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianKeyesFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My family was very dissappointed with their stay at the Forks. The hotel was poorly run and very disorganized. The services and appointments were not those of a high end hotel but more of a mid tier value chain. To begin, we had booked adjoining rooms which were not unlocked. Two attempts to call down to the front desk to get them unlocked resulted in the discovery that the phone in one room did not work and that the front desk was too busy to answer the call from the second phone. We walked down to the desk. The door was unlocked that evening, but when closed relocated. The employee with the keys had taken them home after his shift so we had to wait until the manager came in in the morning to get the door permanently unlocked. The air conditioning in one room did not work and a repair man was called. Sounds petty but only one bath robe was provided for the two rooms, which meant another phone call to the front desk. There were no fridges in the rooms, so we were discarding opened baby food, only to find out as we checked out the fridges could be requested from the front desk. Letting guests know at check in the fridges are available would be helpful.
We were part of a larger group staying at the hotel, and tried to meet in the hotel bar for pre-dinner drinks. The bar was busy and the staff could not find a way to seat us. We sat for over an hour in the lobby, hotel staff would not serve us there, befor heading out of the hotel for dinner.
The whole experience just seemed a result of poor management and the need for staff training. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gt_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest and Family:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay. As you can tell from our Trip Advisor ranking and reviews this is not the norm and again, I apologize for the experience that you had.

I will be speaking with the Front Desk Team and Housekeeping as, quite frankly, this seemed to be like the gong show. This is not accpetable and is not to be repeated.

With regards to the robes, the Inn at the Forks provides 1 robe in the room you booked. Based on our Green Key Initiatives (and being the only hotel in Manitoba with a 5 Green Key Rating) if guests would like additional robes they just need to ask. There is a card on the front of the robe that indicates this. Regarding the fridge, it is true that we will provide a fridge upon request (and if we have them available in our inventory) I'm so sorry that we did not receive your request as this could have been resolved. As an aside, we are not licensed to serve beverages in the lobby, so our staff were not serving you to be difficult, they were following the rules of our Liquor Commission. We are a popular and busy establishment and based on our seating capacity we can not exceed the maximun capacity or we would lose our liquor license.

I am hoping that my response is not lost in translation. I am genuinely sorry for the experience you had and would invite you to contact me directly at cstephens@innforks.com. We'd love for you to return and experience the level of service that we pride ourselves in giving.

Kind regards,

Cathy Stephens
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Inn at the Forks is must while visiting Winnipeg. Located at the forks of the Assinniboine River, this hotel has plush accomodations at a fair price. It is located near the old train station, filled with unique shopping and restaurants. The old market area provides an artsy vibe with something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have stayed here several times over the past couple of years (location, location, location) and enjoyed the hotel and its surrounding shops and restaurants. Central location makes it easy to get anywhere in the city. Room was quiet with a nice view of the city and no traffic noise but it needs a bit of updating. The mattress was tired and the couch and chair were something out of the 70's and A/C a bit noisy. Had a jr suite so lots of room but the shower...a plastic one piece with not enough room to change your mind. Time to rip out the tub and put in an updated shower. They also need to provide a secondary locking system for the door. Ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was first rate for food and staff. Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and professional. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1943Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest hotels in Winnipeg. Located in the Forks, there are plenty of restaurants and shops in the market area. I enjoyed the dining at the hotel, breakfast was well priced and service was good. They have a shuttle to drive you to downtown or other places that you would like to see while you are visiting. Staff are friendly and I would recommend this hotel. My only regret is I had to move to another hotel for the rest of my stay in Winnipeg as it was a little far from where my meetings were. (the convention centre)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel. I am not disappointed. The hotel is in a good location. It is by the river and one can walk along the river. Across the street is two markets, Johnson Terminal and the the market at the forks. Both have some very interesting shops and nice eateries.

On the back side of the hotel is the museum of Human Rights. It is a short walking distance from the hotel. Unfortunately, it is still under construction and scheduled to open next year.

The restaurant is descent at a reasonable price. I had lamb 2 ways for dinner and it was delicious. For breakfast, I have the egg benedict with smoked salmon. I enjoyed it. I have omelette the next day, and it was okay, a bit dry.

The fitness center was small and poorly equipped. It is not open till 7 am. however, you can ask the front desk to let you in if you want to use the fitness center before 7 am.

I did not use the spa so I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Forks

Property: Inn at the Forks
Address: 75 Forks Market Rd, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Forks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Forks Hotel Winnipeg
Hotel At The Forks
At The Forks Winnipeg
Inn At The Forks Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing