We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Forks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at the Forks
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern and Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here the night before my wedding. The hotel itself was modern and clean and my room gave me a view of the Winnipeg skyline. I don't really have any complaints (the bed is awesome), it delivers what it should deliver as a hotel. I just hope the next time a bride walk past their service desk they would at least congratulate her (even if she's not going to have her wedding at your hotel), all I got was blank stares. Same thing when my husband and I came back from our wedding to spend the night there, not even a goodnight from the people on the desk. I don't want to sound bitter (although I probably do), but come on, show some enthusiasm...or at least fake one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest(s):

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I as so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay but was concerned about your comments regarding the Front Desk Associates. I have checked back on our schedules ( as this was in September) and have discussed the situation with the team. As an aside, 2 of the Front Desk individuals working at that time are no longer employed with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Inn at the Forks one day.

Sincerely,

Cathy Stephens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    292
    69
    21
    15
See reviews for
140
288
58
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel as I was there for an business. It is quite a lovely hotel with beautiful decor and very nice rooms. I had a deluxe room and the rooms are updated and large with great bathrooms, free Wifi, and gym. The service I was provided was excellent. There is a spa there that I did not take advantage of, but it is a beautiful hotel. Right next to a market place which is fun to check out. I would definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Winnipeg.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is pretty nice. Very spacious, free bottled water and nice comfy robes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about Inn at the Forks on Trip Advisor.

I have shared your comments with all of the staff, as they do appreciate the feedback.

You definitely need to try to get into Riverstone Spa if you are indeed in Winnipeg again; there are some wonderful packages with Spa treatments or you could purchase a 1 hour Spa Pass - it's a great deal!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Inn at the Forks.

Sincerely,

Cathy Stephens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The staff were courteous and professional. I thought the beds were not up to par with the fact that hotel is considered upscale and the heater in my room made a loud humming sound all night long. My other coworker also had the same problem. Otherwise great hotel and loved the market by the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I travel to Winnipeg for works that brings me to different areas of town, so I enjoy this central location. The Forks Market is directly across the street, which I love. The rooms are very nice, the amenities are great and I always sleep very well.

I find the room service menu limited and quite over priced. Great service though. I often travel for long periods of time, and the rooms are not equipped with a fridge or microwave. When I mentioned this on my first visit, the attendant mentioned they can get one brought to my room for $10/day. I mentioned it on my next stay, and they mentioned free of charge. Parking is also $13/day and I was not told that I had access to the covered parking.

Overall, this is an amazing hotel. Just a few minor details that would make it perfect for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

When was the last time you felt like you were at home when you were staying in a hotel?
The "Forks" gives you that feeling. While my home does not have anyone who greets me when I arrive, the front desk reception was warm and welcoming. I have stayed here before so I was greeted with my name and a welcome back. My room faced the Assiniboine River and while there was a light dusting of snow going on outside (10 cm in Winnipeg) the room was well appointed and certainly adequate for my purposes. The Inn also hosts a spa in its facilities and here the staff are professional and accomodating. I had booked an appointment for early in the morning and while the snowstorm prevented my masseuse for making it in I was offered free use of the steam room and sauna as well as a new time for the services I wanted.
Use the valet parking when you go in the winter, at -30C outside it is better to have someone else park the car and when you need it again it is warm. They don't call it "Winterpeg" because of the warm weather but the warm service at the Forks makes this the place to stay when you visit. The Inn is centrally located, in a unique spot in Winnipeg, and you are basically 10 minutes from anywhere you want to be. What can be better?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. There are only 5 floors so the top floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn over Christmas Dec 24-28, 2012. We moved to the Inn after one night at the Fort Garry Hotel as we found it unsatisfactory. The Inn is relatively new, perhaps ten years old, and it shows in design, newness and cleanliness.

I have stayed at the Inn a number of times over the years because of its style and its location at the confluence of the historic Red and Assiniboine Rivers in the heart of Winnipeg. This area of town in recent years has been completely rejuvenated with shops and restaurants and attractions and the Winnipeg Goldeyes baseball stadium. It used to be nothing but empty rail yards but is now a major attraction. Shops and restaurants are right next door, there are walking and biking trails and there is always something going on at the Forks.

Anyway, when we checked in I asked about upgrades to a suite. Kelley at the front desk, who is so friendly and helpful, offered us an upgrade to a suite for an extra $39 on top of our regular rate of $250. Suites are advertised on the hotel web site at $360. We payed $289.

After we'd put our things in our room Kelley called to offer us the top of the line Riverside Suite with its spa bathroom and extra space. We looked at it but decided to stay in our current suite because we preferred the layout.

Our suite had a separate bedroom, as all suites should, fireplace, mini fridge, a large bathroom, Bose ipod dock and lots of space for entertaining including a large dining room table that can accommodate six. The extra space came in handy one evening when we entertained.

Kelley even gave us 2 free breakfasts at the restaurant for Christmas Day. Too bad the restaurant was closed! But it's the thought that counts. The other staff at the front desk were all very friendly, helpful and attentive. The valet parking was especially welcome as temperatures in Winnipeg were -20C and -30C the whole time.

I've stayed at the Fairmont and the Fort Garry Hotel but from now on I will always stay at the Forks and nowhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I used to enjoy staying at this hotel . . . . now I find the staff to be unprofessional, snobby and the Inn at the Forks nickels and dimes their clientele. Last time my husband and I had a night in the city we stayed here and were charged $25 for valet parking, I contacted the hotel after I looked at my receipt to say we parked our own vehicle . . . turns out they charge $25 for a guest just to park in their lot outside in the back. Wouldn't it be a give in that your guests arrive at your establishment with a vehicle and expect to be able to park it in the hotels lot? We were also charged for someone else's breakfast on top of our own (may have been maybe 5 seated tables in the entire breakfast area) and room service to another room (there were only two booked rooms on the entire floor we were on. should not have been too difficult to charge the correct room). I left a message with the manager to let him/her know the lack of professionalism and never received a phone call back. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesstamtam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnForksGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the Forks, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced.

I admit I am perplexed with regards to your parking charge of $25.00 as we do not have a parking charge of $25.00? Parking is limited at the Forks, so we are allowed to park vehicles directly behind our hotel as well as in 2 areas of the Forks Parkade ( where there are plug-ins)

With regards to a charge that is not yours, we are more than happy to correct that but would need some more information ie: name, date(s) of stay, room number.

When time permits, please contact our Guest Services Manager and/or myself and we will be happy to make any necessary adjustments.

Sincerely,

Ben Sparrow
General Manager


Cathy Stephens
Guest Services Manager
cstephens@innforks.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Forks

Property: Inn at the Forks
Address: 75 Forks Market Rd, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Forks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Forks Hotel Winnipeg
Hotel At The Forks
At The Forks Winnipeg
Inn At The Forks Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing