We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant tapas restaurant!”
Review of Deer + Almond

Deer + Almond
Ranked #10 of 1,641 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In the Exchange district of Winnipeg.. Great menu. Excellent bar. Wonderfull atmosphere.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant tapas restaurant!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had lunch with a friend on the weekend. I found this restaurant to be nice and clean. No clutter as not even salt and pepper are on the table. Our waiter gave us glasses of water. I than asked if I could have ice water and he quickly obliged. I would prefer more lighting as it was a bit too dark for me. I ordered a Royale burger with a delicious kale/potato/dill/cream soup. The cheeseburger was one of the best I have tasted. Do not order on your first date unless you want it to be your last date as it is quite messy to eat. It was awesome made with ground sirloin. The bun had black sesame seeds which I loved. I had the desert with the peanuts and was not really impressed with that. Our waiter Josey was the best with a radiant smile and terrific sense of humour. It looked to me the owner was very careful in hiring suitable staff as they all were so naturally pleasant. They appear to love their jobs. I will be back. Oh yes, my friend likes it as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHAPPY03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    78
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty...”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great atmosphere and good service. Food was good, especially the salads. Some of the meat dishes left something to be desired. The reservation policy is strict so be sure that you only reserve for people who can make it, have to leave your credit card to hold your reservation. Street parking is available all around the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
141 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This may be one of our new "Go To" places”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had reservations but it ended up being in the middle of a fairly heavy snowfall. The streets were gridlocked and the parking difficult. However, it was all uphill from there.

The setting is designed to appeal to a broad range of patrons. Simple design and flexible seating arrangements make it adaptable to different size groups. Subdued lighting, but plenty to see your food by. Partially full when we arrived but completely full before we had finished our meals. We had expected it to be fairly noisy based on reviews but perhaps the rowdy crowd had stayed home that night, we found conversation easy.

Service was quick and helpful and our server, Daniel, delivered an effective combination of advice and information with a decidedly personal feel to it. Nicely done.

4 small plates for the two of us, the order selected by the house and perfectly timed. The dishes were attractive, fresh and extremely flavourful. A decent amount of food that we managed to finish with enough room to split a dessert.

Considering that we had a drink each and coffee afterward the total bill was well below what other places might have charged; and the food quality well above.

We would absolutely recommend it based on our experience. Hopefully they can keep it up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotLostFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Imagine”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This place is all about the imagination of the chef. We loved the unique decor. Dim lit non classic creative warmth. Kale Caesar salad, pan fried Brussels with pistachios and cranberries and blackened steak.......most wonderful! A bit noisy like a New York restaurant. Casual and creative!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balletdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in the exchange”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great food and great service and atmosphere! We went to the restaurant before going to MTC. Food just melted in your mouth! Will recommend to everyone I know! I will be back for sure! Can't wait to try other things on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deer + Almond also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Deer + Almond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing