We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature in the city!”
Review of Fort Whyte Alive

Fort Whyte Alive
Ranked #11 of 207 things to do in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Year Round Edutainment Learn it, love it, and live it up in our 640-acre backyard! Choose from a variety of outdoor activities-for a new adventure every day.• Interpretive Centre • Buffalo Stone Cafe • Aquarium of the Prairies • Burrowing Owl Enclosure • Bison Prairie • Saturn Family Tree House • Tipi Encampment • Prairie Dog Town • Pioneer Sod House • 7 km of forest trails • Nature Shop • floating marsh boardwalks • wildlife watching • canoeing & fishing on 5 lakes • cross-country skiing • snowshoeing • tobogganing • public programs & events. Whether you are planning a first-time or return visit to this very special place, we are sure that you will leave with new insights into the natural world, a deeper appreciation of Manitoba's heritage, new information and actions for sustainable living, and plenty of fresh air, memories of fun and discovery with family and friends.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a treasured gem inside the City limits. This park boasts excellent bike paths that course for many kilometers throughout the centre. Excellent restaurants. There are First Nation teepee replicas, live grazing Buffalo herds, so many geese, and a multitude of park benches, docks and quiet spaces to enjoy this unique prairie city space ! A must see !

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hi Mike,

Thank you! You have captured many great things about FortWhyte in your review. We agree, FortWhyte is a must see and definitely a unique space. We are so happy that you have enjoyed our trails, bike paths and Buffalo Stone Cafe.

I hope to see you soon enjoying one of those quiet spots off a trail.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bison"
in 79 reviews
"prairie dogs"
in 20 reviews
"sod house"
in 15 reviews
"canada geese"
in 9 reviews
"interpretive center"
in 7 reviews
"stone cafe"
in 7 reviews
"burrowing owl"
in 6 reviews
"bird watching"
in 6 reviews
"nature walk"
in 5 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 6 reviews
"forested area"
in 3 reviews
"migrating birds"
in 3 reviews
"small bus"
in 3 reviews
"great trails"
in 3 reviews
"ice fishing"
in 3 reviews
"enjoy nature"
in 7 reviews
"bannock"
in 5 reviews
Filter

199 - 203 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fort Whyte is a popular destination in Winnipeg for those interested in a pleasant, not strenuous walk alongside ponds, forests and fields that are home to local and migrating birds as well as deer and a herd of buffalo. Visitors sem to enjoy the teepees and the sod house that are reminders of the prairie's past. Features at Fort Whyte Alive include a terrific little gift shop, indigenous fish tanks and a biodiversity garden. Throughout the year, there is a schedule of ongoing activities and attractions for visitors.

Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hi Margaret,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of FortWhyte. Your words have done a great job describing many of the things we have to offer. I am pleased to hear you enjoy our gift shop- there are always great finds from local artisans in the store and the aquariums are a big hit with all of our visitors.

I hope we see you often enjoying our ongoing activities. Our website is a fantastic way to keep yup to date of the many events.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Often went with school. Such a well organized, well run place. Very educational an demands a new appreciated for conservation efforts. Head on a day with good weather!

Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding FortWhyte. We are so pleased that you enjoy visiting us and that we are doing our job of promoting sustainable living well. We hope to see you back enjoying all we have to offer soon. Winter is a great time out here with lots to see and do.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Took my sister here while she was visiting from out of town this past weekend. She really enjoyed seeing the bison.

Admission is usually $7 per adult, but this past weekend, they had a festival, so we got a deal at $3 each. :)

Geese are migrating, so lots of geese around right now. I believe they're having "migration dinners" now too: if you book ahead, you get dinner and can watch the geese fly in. I've never done that at Fort Whyte Alive though.

Would have loved to spend more time, wandering on the hiking trails and/or the floating boardwalks. Next time!

Thank Winnipegger2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your visit, sounds like you enjoyed our Fall Family Festival day as well as some of the migration magic. We appreciate that you think of us while having out of town visitors. We hope to see you enjoying the board walks and other trails in the future. Of course right now you might need to try it on snowshoes which is another great experience out here.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Farm and craft market outside the welcome center. Millions of geese on the lakes since it was migration season had some of the trails blocked, but there were still miles available to walk.

Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for visiting! You definitely picked a great time to come out to FortWhyte on our Fall Family Festival day. We are pleased you enjoyed our market as well as the migration. Hope we see you back for another visit ! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Whyte Alive also viewed

 

Been to Fort Whyte Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing