We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tobaggan slide”
Review of Fort Whyte Alive

Fort Whyte Alive
Ranked #11 of 198 things to do in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Year Round Edutainment Learn it, love it, and live it up in our 640-acre backyard! Choose from a variety of outdoor activities-for a new adventure every day.• Interpretive Centre • Buffalo Stone Cafe • Aquarium of the Prairies • Burrowing Owl Enclosure • Bison Prairie • Saturn Family Tree House • Tipi Encampment • Prairie Dog Town • Pioneer Sod House • 7 km of forest trails • Nature Shop • floating marsh boardwalks • wildlife watching • canoeing & fishing on 5 lakes • cross-country skiing • snowshoeing • tobogganing • public programs & events. Whether you are planning a first-time or return visit to this very special place, we are sure that you will leave with new insights into the natural world, a deeper appreciation of Manitoba's heritage, new information and actions for sustainable living, and plenty of fresh air, memories of fun and discovery with family and friends.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Tobaggan slide is lots of fun although sore on the butt. Lots of nature stuff to see and do. Bring your own snacks cause the restaurant is a little expensive in my opinion. Beautiful in all seasons. If you are a nature lover then go. It tends to get boring for us in the summer cause there is only so much trail walking one can do. They need to have more interactive stations outside. Kids can fish.

Thank WinnipegMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for feedback of your experiences at FortWhyte. We're glad to hear you enjoy our winter activities including the toboggan slide. There are just as many opportunities in the summer for families such as packing a picnic and renting a row boat or canoe. We also have dipnetting and family adventure packs available. This summer we will be offering regular Bison Safaris for families every Thursday.

If you would like more information on our different opportunities please feel free to contact me at 204-989-8353 or bookings@fortwhyte.org.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 288 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great place to go see nature. greta little trails. Very educational. Children love it. It is smaller so you can see most of the are in 1/4 of a day. Little gem in Winnipeg.

Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit. We're so glad you enjoyed FortWhyte, we too think it is a gem in Winnipeg. Hope to see you out enjoying our trails and exhibits in the near future.

Best regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

very upset that the price includes a gratuity.This is not acceptable to me ,will never attend again. price was over the top

2  Thank harry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

I'm sorry your experience was not what you were expecting. We appreciate all feedback that we receive. Should you wish to discuss your concerns please contact me at the information below.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great outdoors in all seasons. Family programs - Lots of acitivies for kids. A great find within the city.

Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoy all FortWhyte has to offer regardless of the season. Our website has a great calendar of events so you can keep up to date on all the activities we have going on.

Hope to see you soon and often.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We got a family membership there last year and used it lots. Great for skating and sledding as well as the other activities that go on throughout the year. Nice place to pack a picnic lunch as well and just enjoy the day.

Thank Kenzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWhyte_Alive, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Whyte Alive, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Kenzie,

We're so pleased that you are enjoying your family membership. Did you know that we are open late on Fridays so you can come in and enjoy snowshoeing, skating and tobogganing as well as a special programming.

We hope to see you enjoying FortWhyte often.

Regards,

Dana Forster
Visitor Services Manager
FortWhyte Alive
204-989-8353
bookings@fortwhyte.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Whyte Alive also viewed

 

Been to Fort Whyte Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing