We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doctor Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The stay at the Howard Johnson was very nice. The rooms were clean and quiet. i prefer the Howard Johnson to other hotels in Winnipeg as there is ample parking, quiet rooms, clean spaces etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 291 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JPACEY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed 1 night and were totally surprised be the condition the place was in. We left for Cuba the next day and stayed in a 3-3.5 star resort. That was nicer than this Howard Johnson. The only good thing we can say is the reception was very friendly, and the breakfast the next morning was awesome, It was hot, fresh tasting and service was good. We would go back for the breakfast only.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We rented the room and motel is fine so are the staff, fine and friendly. They have to shampoo and clean the carpet, small rooms and smell so does the hallway, maybe because they take Pets. They have to work on it.

Room Tip: Its Yaki!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night both before our flight out, and two weeks later when our flight got in. The first night was in the hotel part and the room was small and dated, but clean and comfortable. I was concerned however, for the safety of our vehicle and it's contents since the parking lot is in the back alley with bar traffic in and out all night. Our second night here, we checked in at 1am, and were sent to a room in the motel part. It was so old. And stunk of cigarette smoke so badly even though it was a non smoking room. Everyone knows you can't get smoke out of a room simply by cleaning. This bothered me, as I have asthma. However, since it was so late, we slept fast and left early. The front desk lady was very apologetic when I complained of the smoke smell. She said they are demolishing that portion of the hotel in September. Perhaps they should not be renting those rooms if they are so bad? Anyways, there was nothing wrong with the Hotel room for its price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kevin U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The beds and pillows were comfortable. No elevator, so you may want to ask for the lower floor if this is an issue for you. There was a "musty" almost smokey smell to the room which wasn't overbearing, but noticeable. The shower was the problem - shifts to burning hot to freezing cold several times during my shower - not fun! This is an economy hotel - old - but acceptable for a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor if stairs are a concern
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESLEYHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnipeg
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#1 of 64 in Winnipeg
183 reviews
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#27 of 64 in Winnipeg
706 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#37 of 64 in Winnipeg
329 reviews
Park West Inn
#54 of 64 in Winnipeg
10 reviews
Motel 6 Winnipeg West
#2 of 2 in Headingley
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West

Address: 3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 0Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
#6 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $59 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Winnipeg
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing