We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no wifi, sports bar patrons quite rowdy but great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    98
    69
    43
    21
See reviews for
91
57
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We took a road trip to Winnipeg this fall and we found this great HoJo Express property that we stayed at for a couple days while visiting Winnipeg and the two big lakes north of the city. We found the property via the Internet and it was conveniently located with restaurants, a Walmart, liquor store and other amenities close by. The property was clean. The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The rates were decent. I would definitely go out of my way to stay at this property. The TV was nice and a good selection of channels. Nice bath. The big thing for me besides cleanliness and helpful staff is the convenience. It is right on Portage Avenue one of the main drags of Winnipeg. I really appreciated our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teauteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good: The room was clean and the staff were helpful enough.

Bad: The hallways and stairwell were covered with dust and dirty. I know it's winter and all but still... Use a vacuum.
The Wi-Fi internet is unreliable, several times I had to walk down the hallway to get a connection that worked.
No elevator, If you have heavy bags be prepared to carry them up the stairs.
There is a beer store connected and VLT's downstairs and one day there was this noise that went through the entire room that sounded like a Truck pulling on it's horn.
Choking smokers outside.
Next door there was a couple, well I assume it was a couple that could be clearly heard at 2am. Paper thin walls maybe?

Room Tip: If you want good Wi-Fi the closer to the reception you are the better but still expect problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FragileTension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I left my glasses in the room and they mailed across the country free of charge! I think they even sent them express! No complaints about the actual stay either. Everything was ready when we got there. No waiting for checkin or checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our stay was wonderful! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The stairs were tough so our next stay we will try one of the rooms on the main floor. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and wonderful service and food as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnipeg
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Winnipeg West
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#39 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park West Inn
Park West Inn
#54 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Winnipeg West
Motel 6 Winnipeg West
#2 of 2 in Headingley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Address: 3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 0Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Winnipeg
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing