We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Thompson, Canada
1 review
“snotty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

me & my wife stayed there for four nights. And it was OK except for one person at the desk very snotty attitude. about parking asked if could park at the side because didn't want to park in the back. told no even tho there was lots of room. the back was full from the bar and was told maybe we should drive around until the bar closed. she let her position go to her head i guess. stayed there many times over the years and staff were always friendly. couldn't believe it.

Room Tip: hotel rooms are nice size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    95
    68
    43
    21
See reviews for
87
57
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TRENTON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

everything was good except for the fact that when i got back from work at 6pm my door was open. considering that i left for work at 8am and the maids were already in the hallway cleaning rooms , i can only assume my door had been left open all day. there was a cleaning bottle left in the room but nothing was missing which was a good thing. the front desk lady assured me a manager would get back to me but i heard from nobody in the following 4 days that i was there. i dont know if i will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank ALEX N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Room was of a good size and comfortable size. Walmart only a 2 minute walk away and plenty of food places around. Easy 15 min bus ride from central city. Staff were helpful at front desk. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Well we were hoping the reviews would have been corrected by now. Not so much! We were in the motel part. Stains on the chair, carpet was dirty, shower was moldy, hot/cold water temp could not be controled well in the shower, room door was sticking, outside door would not close. Beds were new, bedding looked new and clean and beds were very comfortable (otherwise we may not have stayed)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

The carpet in the halls was a bit dirty and the sauna/hot tub were out of service and had been for months. However, the price was reasonable and our room was clean, neat and reasonably quiet. The breakfast special in the restaurant was tasty and the service prompt. Wifi worked for us.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from Portage Avenue (even numbers) are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Augustus PEI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

for almost $100 you can do WAY better! Look for a B&B or even splurge and spend an extra 20-30 on a decent hotel. This place was unacceptable. I had to run the water for like 5-6 minutes to get rid of the dirt in the lines (the water was light brown), even then i was a little wary having a shower but i did and am no worse for the wear. The floor in the bathroom was gross and the carpet was weird feeling under your feet. the blankets on the beds were thin and there was something funny going on with the AC /Heat. I woke up several times through the night either freezing or sweating. OH! downstairs they now have"|erotic bingo"... so i guess if thats your thing.. but it wasnt mine. No elevator, ice machine is in the main lobby, and the outdoor noise is a bit much.. too close to the airport!

would never do it again.. not when i know what else is out there for a comparable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH DAKOTA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here, our horses run at Assiniboia Downs close to here so it works out well. Have stayed in the motel portion as well as upstairs in the hotel part. Was satisified with both, was more convienent for us to drive up. We did have some noisy neighbors one night but called the desk and security went next door within minutes to quiet them down. The room couod have used a bit of paint here and there but was overall clean and relaxing. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#24 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#36 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Airport
#51 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Park West Inn
#54 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Queen Bee Hotel
#44 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Address: 3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 0Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Winnipeg
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing