We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Norwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norwood Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Norwood Hotel in Winnipeg on 7/5/2010. The room was quiet, the beds were firm, but not too firm, the bath was large, clean, and had plenty of hot water. The WiFi connection was fast. We were on the fourth floor and the view was fantastic; we watched a storm as it approached from miles away and finally as it washed over us. We had all three meals in the hotel's Jolly Friar Cafe. Homemade mushroom-asparagus soup and sandwich for lunch was great. Breakfast was good. Dinner could have been better. I was disappointed with the local draft beer that I ordered, but my wife's glass of blush wine was excellent. The staff was friendly and competent, check in and check out very fast. The room rate was surprisingly low for a large hotel of this caliber, so close to downtown. Parking is free. Other hotels in downtown charge as much as $20. There is a taxi stand outside the hotel's front door. My only complaint is that a refrigerator is not included in a standard room. An upgraded room would have been about ten dollars more. I heartily recommend this hotel and will be back again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhenry4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    125
    44
    4
    3
See reviews for
103
50
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My expectations were quite high, given the numerous positive reviews. I don't quite understand why so many people rated this hotel 5 out of 5 or even 4 out of 5. I'd call the rooms tolerable at best; bathtubs have mildew, carpets and the hallways have a well-worn apperance. Sure, the price was right at around $105 / night, but to be honest I'd rather stay somewhere a bit more expensive.

The walls don't offer much in the way of sound insulation. Conversations next door are audible, as are people in the hallways. I was also a bit unnerved by the quantity of "lock your car, secure your valuable and arm your alarm" signs in the parking lot. Is this an issue here?

On a positive note, the hotel's location is quite central which is a definite plus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_MX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel is ideally situated near the Forks and St. Boniface. It is a great location for exploring WInnipeg on foot. The rooms feel more luxorious than the typical chain hotels but the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryhappy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel may not look like anything special from the outside but the rooms were definitely above average. The beds were extremely comfortable, the room itself was small but very cozy. I couldn't of asked for anything more for $100 night. The front desk were very friendly. The location is great, it's just a few minute walk to the Forks. Overall, I was extremely pleased with this hotel. The price is right and you get a lot for what you're paying for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyDij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed here for almost a week on business. Room was clean, comfortable,, and location convenient. Only downside is that it doesn't have a pool or fitness center. The restaurant was busy but I was quite disappointed with my meal. Apparently, a 10oz New York strip loin is 2 pieces of meat so thin you couldn't help but over-cook it.

Over-all great place in great location (short walk to forks) but don't order the steak!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
192 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Had a nice stay here, location was good for short walks to both downtown and the Osborne Village/Corydon St. sections. Our rate was $111 and included parking. Helpful staff, the bed was comfy, they provided bathrobes, internet connection was quick plus the computer in the lobby was seldom in use. Didn't try the restaurant, just walked into the slightly weird bar with video poker and slots plus entertainment Thurs-Sat. Good for a chuckle.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Booked an Executive Suite; huge room, suitable for a family. Price reasonable (We've stayed in worse for more $) Free newspaper, cozy bathrobes, bottled water, coffee, toiletries, internet. Hotel is small, but as has been said by everyone, it's close to downtown, has free parking, and we found it clean. Windows open a bit if you want some fresh air. The bed, pillows and bedding were heavenly, really the best feature. We enjoyed the restaurant. Has meeting/banquet rooms. No pool. Photo on their website was exactly representative of the room. Would stay here again, would recommend it. We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50-ish-ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,109 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,071 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#24 of 63 in Winnipeg
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
845 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Property: Norwood Hotel
Address: 112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated, The Norwood Hotel in Manitoba is immersed in Winnipeg’s oldest and most popular Francophone neighborhood, St. Boniface. Soak up French Canadian culture at charming bistros, lively summer garden markets and a trés cool winter festival. Visit locally owned shops, restaurants and jog expansive winding river trails. Shopping conveniences are footsteps away from our stylish Manitoba hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Norwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing