We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Norwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norwood Hotel
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I would recommend this place: Easy access to downtown and tourist attractions, friendly staff, reasonable price

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 399 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2009

We recently stayed at the Norwood Hotel. We paid between $30 - 130 American dollars less than other hotels in downtown Winnipeg (used expedia.com). This is surprising, because it is centrally located...simply across the bridge from the Forks area. In addition, we were glad to have this location, b/c it's parking was much safer (right in front of the hotel) than other areas downtown.

Hotel is nice. Beds comfortable. A little outdated, but when you're just going to stay overnight, all you need is cleanliness and comfort.

The Bed/Breakfast deals you can get online are definitely worthwhile. We only paid $4 more per night for the breakfast vouchers (therefore, $2/pp for bkfst). HUGE breakfast. Really really tasty. Cute restaurant (The Jolly Friar).

In the end: centrally located, safe parking, best price, comfy beds, clean, great breakfast deals, easy check-in and -out.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarNortherners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We are careful on spending money for lodging and prefer to splurge on food or experiences. Got our Norwood room for CD$103/nite (not including taxes) and liked the cozy bedding so much we stayed an extra night! Well, truthfully we were also enjoying Winnipeg so that helped us want to spend the extra day. The Norwood was an especially good value in our long list of lodging choices while driving across Canada. The hotel is not new but is well-kept and clean. And the location downtown just several blocks from the rivers is fantastic for getting to the major attractions, eateries, and strolling/running along the river. Don't expect river views (you wouldn't want to deal with the noise of frequent freight trains) but do expect great convenience. BTW, don't try walking into the hotel to get the same rate. We reserved by phone earlier that day (while on the road) and by the time we arrived walk-ins were quoted CD$137/nite. That rate would probably have kept us from staying the extra day.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed here for one night only, but enjoyed the big, clean and comfortable rooms. The beds were a little bended, but that's the only not so possitive comment about the rooms we had. Breakfast is not included, but on the groundfloor is a very nice breakfastcafe with huge dishes.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

This hotel proved very comfortable for my family during a recent trip to Winnipeg. The location is very convenient to the Forks although we stayed there as it is close to family.

The housekeeping was excellent and we found the beds very nice.

We opted for the Bed and Breakfast plan and the breakfasts proved to be very tasty and the restaurant a great place to eat in the morning.

There were not a lot of frills at the hotel and little information provided about any hotel services that are available. These were very minor issues though and the desk staff was very approachable and helpful.

My family really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return. Thank you, Norwood Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

The Norwood hotel is located in St. Boniface, about a 10 minute walk to The Forks. Around the hotel there is Safeway, Beer Store, Pharmacy within very short walking distance. Rooms are very clean but need some updating. We booked the King Executive Suite. It was spacious and the only recommendation I would make is to include a microwave. Hotel breakfast is good and affordable. Staff were courteous and helpful. Overall a good stay for families.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SLeicester73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

The Norwood Hotel is beautifully situated, within walking distance of most Winnipeg attractions---of which there are many. Parking is free for guests, which means a lot in the heart of a city. During our stay, we rarely drove, relying instead on our feet. Good thing, because Winnipeg's restaurants are wonderful, but caloric. We can highly recommend La Vieille Gare and Just Desserts, both in the French Quarter, as well as the Norwood's restaurant, which we visited every morning for breakfast, thanks to our Room and Breakfast package. Speaking of the room, ours was cozy and comfortable, with a queen-size bed, a small table and chairs plus a sofa. The cable TV included American channels. The bathroom, which was perfectly serviceable, seemed a bit outdated. The hotel's public spaces are attractive and bright. The people are friendly and helpful. To sum up, we liked the Norwood and would stay there again. It's not a deluxe hotel, but it's a great value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeanPaulGerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,301 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,045 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,027 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Address: 112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range: $114 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated, The Norwood Hotel in Manitoba is immersed in Winnipeg’s oldest and most popular Francophone neighborhood, St. Boniface. Soak up French Canadian culture at charming bistros, lively summer garden markets and a trés cool winter festival. Visit locally owned shops, restaurants and jog expansive winding river trails. Shopping conveniences are footsteps away from our stylish Manitoba hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Otel, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing