We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not cheap”
Review of Norwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
wegelagerer
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not cheap”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location of this property , closed to the hospital, made us pick this property. Overall the staff is friendly and helpfull, the rooms and hallways are clean except super dirty carpets. Lots of roadnoise but closed to St. Boniface hospital and The Forks.
Lots of parking and a few restaurants nearby, seems like an unsafe area in the city after dark though.
The price quoted on the phone was different from what we paid for some reason. They quoted us a hospital rate but we ended up paying 10,-$ more a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegelagerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    117
    42
    4
    3
See reviews for
101
46
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband & I were in Wpg. for 3-4 days visiting relatives last April. Updated room in older bldg. was clean & quiet. Breakfast was muffins we picked up at Tim Horton's and the hotel room coffee. Did not use bar, found a good bistro nearby for lunch one day. Walking distance to The Forks area & easy driving to places we needed to go in around the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank 400gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, MB
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am not sure when this hotel was originally build, but you can tell by the building and the well known bar that it has been there a while. However, as soon as you get inside you enter a modern and updated space. The lobby, meeting rooms and hotel rooms have all seen solid and modern upgrades. My room was clean and spacious at a very competitive rate for Winnipeg. I will for sure go back when I need to be in that part of the city. I forgot my D&G cologne, called the next day and the staff was very helpful, found my item and are keeping it on hold until I come back to pick it up.

PS, the Keurig single cup coffee maker was an excellent added touch!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martijnvanluijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were here for a group booking, a Scottish group so we really watch our pennies.

Our room had a view of asphalt over some building with VERY noisy air conditioner fans so we could not have any fresh air at night ( a must for me).
The rooms were well appointed, lots of storage space, toweles and amenities.

The friendly service makes the stay worthwhile

Room Tip: Don't stay at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

we liked it so much we came back it was clean quiet. The could have been a little better
In the room size but other than that it was great! It has great value it's almost like staying in a five star hotel the way it run. the front desk lady was quite helpful.

Room Tip: anything is good to cooke
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were just passing through Winnipeg and stayed here for the night.

The hotel is a bit dated; doors and walls have a lot of scratches on them, management needs to maintain this property better; we didn't hear any noise during the night, which was great since we needed the sleep, but the housekeeping start really early in the morning, it was i think about 9am, we can hear them knocking on the room next door, saying "housekeeping" quite loudly, just really odd to me

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Nice clean rooms, nice decor, and nice and quiet, very quiet. Good value at $109/night plus taxes. Breakfast in restaurant very good. Service at check in very good, friendly. Really have nothing bad to say about it. Also in a quiet part of town, yet close to downtown. Great Italian restaurant right across the street, and a pork/chicken bbq place a couple of blocks east, which was also great, and a hotdog/burger/ice cream joint a short walk east at the end of the back alley, altho I wouldn't recommend the burgers there. A short walk to St B hospital to the north. Have stayed several times, and will continue to stay there. No pool if that is what u r looking for. Heater/AC is also very quiet.

Room Tip: For least street noise, altho there is next to none, ask to stay in south side rooms. Also you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claypodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Property: Norwood Hotel
Address: 112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated, The Norwood Hotel in Manitoba is immersed in Winnipeg’s oldest and most popular Francophone neighborhood, St. Boniface. Soak up French Canadian culture at charming bistros, lively summer garden markets and a trés cool winter festival. Visit locally owned shops, restaurants and jog expansive winding river trails. Shopping conveniences are footsteps away from our stylish Manitoba hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing